Home > Read Reviews > Amigo Energy

Amigo Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Amigo Energy are their billing & account management system, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.3 of 5.

Amigo Energy Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

193 Reviews and 4 Replies for Amigo Energy


8 years of loyalty for nothing

(1 / 5)

  I have never been so screwed by an electric company than Amigo. They recommended the Nights Free plan and now I am getting ripped off having to pay more than double than what I am used to paying. This company is a rip off.

Now former customer
June 12th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good experience

(3.8 / 5)

  With them for 6 years, good experience, rates just went up at renewal time.

Paul
June 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.2 / 5)

  Was told on 2 May that my previous month bill was included in the new bill and I could pay on the 10 May with no issues. Come home today at 515 pm and I have no power. Called spoke to two energy advisors and told there is nothing they can do unless I pay right now. I had to explain multiple times payday is in the morning and there is nothing I can do till then. Since I have to throw out probably $500 worth of groceries I guess it is time to find another company

William Lay
May 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't believe the hype

(1.6 / 5)

  I have been using Amigo for some time now and all of a sudden our bill is higher than it's ever been me and my wife are not home much because of work we haven't used anything central (heat or air) we only use lights, Tv, and about once a week washing and drying for our bill to be close to $500 a month this is unheard of. I'm not sure if they are reading meter's right because we have been suffering in the Texas heat just to see how our bill turned out and it's still almost $500. When we started out we ran heat and air 24/7 and our bill was never that high now we hardly use anything and we are paying for suffering not really sure where they are getting their calculations. I'm very disappointed at this time and not satisfied at all.

PT
April 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Amigo SUCKS

(1 / 5)

  This is a joke of a electricity bill! Customer service sucks and you will wait forever to get ahold of someone! My electricity was turned off over $86 that was disputed and approved according to the lady I talked to but then electricity was turned off and they wouldnt turn on and then told me it would take 4-6 hours to turn back on! Ive been a loyal customer for 2 years! Leadership is a joke, customer service is a joke! I will be finding some where else to go!! DO NOT EVER GO WITH THIS SERVICE PROVIDER!!!

Amigo is HORRIBLE!!!
April 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewal quotes too high

(3.4 / 5)

  There's alot I like about Amigo. Their initial rate through Texas Electricity Ratings was really good. They send weekly usage reports so I know how much I'm spending each week and estimated monthly bill so I can adjust usage. I never had a billing issue. Cons - It took a long time for them to set up the transfer. I made several calls in the first weeks because I never heard from them and I was afraid I wouldn't have power. Their renewal quote was 5 cents per kw hour higher than what my contract was, much higher than any company on this site. I hate to move companies again, but it's too high to continue. Recommendation if you have a good quote with them would be to lock it in for several years.

JR
February 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1.8 / 5)

  My first months bill was $550.00 rediclous!! then i called to ask y my bill was so high and the customer serv rep tried educating me about how i need to pretty much not have anything running during day to save on my electric bill...wow horrible

Jennifer harris
January 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Perks Scam

(1.8 / 5)

  I switched plans because Amigo raised their rates to where I could not afford them. The problem I have is that I have been with them for 10 years and accumulated a lot of Amigo Perks (their rewards program). So when I go to their website it shows a statement instructing me to use my perks before they expire. So I went in their today (expiration day) and tried to use my perks points. Perks site shows I was suspended even thought they expire today. Amigo says I can no longer use my perks. Their explanation was I was no longer an Amigo customer. A good customer service company honors their commitments but not Amigo.

AmigoPerks
January 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

There is a fee to pay your bill

(1 / 5)

  Amigo Energy charges you $5 to pay your bill every month through their website! If you decide to sign up with them make sure you read every page of your agreement and ask them up front if there is a fee to pay your bill. I will not be renewing with Amigo.

Terri Zastrow
November 7th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't waste your money

(1.4 / 5)

  I was with amigo for years and will never go back. Every time your contract is up they change your rate before the contact ends and then lie about when it ended. I have still been fighting a month of billing that I was over charged. After talking with 4 people and emailing the proof my contract did not end until a month later they still have not fixed my bill. I will never be a customer of theirs again.

Jules
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A shady company that tries to scam customers

(1 / 5)

  I called this company to ask about their rates. They agreed to call me back the Tuesday following the day of my call. Well, that call never arrived and this company had signed me up for a 24 month contract without any authorization or any of my personal information. They actually went as far as to put my account on a random email because they did not have my email address. I have been disputing this change for 2 weeks now and I do not recommend that anyone even so much as call this company.

Roberto
October 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Experience

(1 / 5)

  I couldn't be more dissatisfied or appalled by a company that I have been a loyal customer for years with. I was charged more than double my monthly payment this month for using the same amount of wattage I have been using for several months. This is how you treat your loyal customers: changing my bill from 9 cents per watt to 20 cents per watt without any notification. Steadily raising your prices so the consumer won't notice. I'm letting everyone know, this is not acceptable. As soon as I can, I am changing energy companies and telling as many people as I can to change too!

Amanda
October 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Customer Service

(1.2 / 5)

  In attempting to disconnect when we moved, we discovered that the customer service line is not answered. Ever. Most of the time it hangs up on you automatically. So we tried the email address given on emails: it does not exist. Bounced. Finally, in calling the "i want to begin service" number, we were placed on hold for 18 minutes one day and 36 minutes the next day. Now they are saying that we must cancel by mail (more service for them) because my mother (Altzheimers) is not on the call with me, though I have paid every bill through my checking account and my phone and email are the ones on record. 58 minutes. Extremely poor customer service.

Pearlie Girl
October 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Brenda

(5 / 5)

  It's good

Brenda Davila
September 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THEY ARE THIEVES

(1 / 5)

  Two months ago I signed up with Amigo Energy and my first bill came in two weeks collecting $ 75.00, two weeks later I received a $ 422.00 bill, so I called them and they told me it was the program that I had chosen, when I was told I would pay 10 cents per kilowatt, I asked to cancel the plan and I just got another bill for $ 397.88 for a period use of 15 days. Never, never, but never sign with this company. I got evidence! They Are THIEVES

REINA VALLE
September 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The WOW factor!

(5 / 5)

  I really like my electricity provider. I've been with Amigo Energy for all most a year now and I think they have excellent customer service, prices are great, and a great perks program. If they had a commercial I would definitely be the one on there truly bragging about my experience and the wow factor they provided to me.

Thanks Amigo!

Tiffany P
August 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lots of choices

(5 / 5)

  I was confused about all the choices offered for electric companies as I am from Maryland & there aren't many choices there for providers. I went with Amigo on the advice of an acquaintance & was very pleased that it was so easy to sign up for service. I called their customer service line & was happy with the help I got.

Happy with Amigo
August 7th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1.2 / 5)

  I don't see a review option, so I'll leave mine in a post. We were very happy with Amigo Energy until our contract ran out. We called them to see if they could give us another great rate, but they could not. So we shopped around, found a better rate and changed companies. Then the problems started. Our bill is usually due on the 2nd of every month. Well, since we canceled our service, Amigo decided our final bill would be due on the 13th. Since we pay all our bills online, we did not realize this due date change until we started getting threatening phone calls on the 16TH. (The 14th and 15th were a Saturday and Sunday, no less). We have tried to call and reason with them, no such luck. Meanwhile the threatening phone calls continue. Our bill would not have been due for another week, but because we canceled, they have been harassing us for 3 weeks. So, do yourselves a favor and pick a different energy company.

CB
July 26th, 2018

Hi CB,
We apologize for the service that you have received. That's not the experience we want to provide. We value your feedback and have shared it with the appropriate teams. We have sent an email to the address listed requesting your contact information so a resolution manager can contact you directly.

Amigo Energy Responds August 22nd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company in the market

(1.2 / 5)

  This is a night mare, this company is the worst. The bills are too high, could you imagine be charge about 21 cents per kilowatts? This just unacceptable, they lie about talking people that the bills are gonna be very low and at the end I got a very high bill. Can you imagine $115 dollars for 5 days this is just too much.

Upset customer
July 22nd, 2018

We value your feedback and will share it with the appropriate teams.

Many customers who receive a high bill are actually just off contract. When your fixed agreement ends, you are switched over to a month-to-month plan which can vary depending on Market conditions. We'd love to have you back as a customer, and if you'd like to discuss fixed plan options, please call us at 1-877-240-3931. As an added bonus, you'll receive $100 in Perks Points.

Amigo Energy Responds July 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shady business practices

(1.8 / 5)

  When I signed up for amigo energy it was at HEB. There was a deal going on for free nights. I needed a new one so I tried it out. I was told that if I switch providers before 4 months I wouldn't have an early termination fee. I signed the online contract but never received a contract in the mail or email. After the first month it was too expensive for me so I switched. When the bill came it had an early termination fee. I called them and had to wait 24 hours before they called back. After speaking with them, they said that I wouldn't have had an early termination fee if I had called amigo energy and told them that I was switching. I was never told that at the beginning and I never received my contract. I am still fighting this and it is very shady business practices. Do not recommend. If you are one day late on payment then you are hit with an immediate late fee.

Zephan
July 16th, 2018

Hi Zephan,

We apologize for the service you received. That's not the experience we strive to provide. We are also available via Facebook private message to look into your customer service inquiries. https://facebook.com/AmigoEnergy/

Amigo Energy Responds July 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...