Cirro Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Cirro Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Cirro Energy Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

189 Reviews and 10 Replies for Cirro Energy


Do not recommend! Zero ratings would be better than a 1 Star

(1.8 / 5)

  Back story: I purchased a smart plan 1 year ago with no issues and the process to connect energy was very easy. The billing/managment/customer service representatives however are another story. We receive paper bills and electronic emails for our account. On 2 separate occasions our payment was scheduled and subsequently cancled by Cirro Energy due to some sort of "problem" in the billing cycle. An email or phone call was never made to notify us which subsequently resulted in a disconnection notice being charge and late payments. Our payments had been late a few times but always paid. Automatic payments with our accounts (credit card and a checking account) do not work and their customer service team had been unable to remedy the situation.

Most recently we recieved a disconnection notice having never been told the payment never processed resulting in a disconnection of our power the next morning. Oh by the way its the middle of summer and we have 2 month old and family visiting... Again customer service said nothing except for "Sorry" nor did they give a time frame for when power would be reconnected due to the mistake in the billing process.

If you want to save some pain and time dealing with your electric company do not go with Cirro Energy, it's not worth your time or money for the pure lack of survice and insufficitent/unreliable billing system.

If Cirro responds to this review; pay close attention to how they plan to offer to make these problems right and whether or not they take ownership of their companies lacking customer service/support.

Chris
July 2nd, 2019

Hi Chris, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF #1705 and additional information.

Cirro Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Continuing Failure of Accounting Department To Accurately Record Payments

(2 / 5)

  Month after month Cirro Energy sends out late notices when in fact the payment are received several days before the due date. It appears they either don't log the payments when they are received, or they don't deposit the payment until after the due date in order to illegally charge late fees.

Wayne Boyce
April 6th, 2019

Hi Wayne, this is not the experience we want for our customers, and we'd appreciate the opportunity to further investigate. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account number and contact information so we may look into this.

Cirro Energy Responds May 1st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No bill comparison yet, but seems good

(4.2 / 5)

  Title says it.

Greg
February 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company with horrible processes

(1 / 5)

  For dec billing i was on autopay and somehow my card got declined. Cirro did not even give me the courtsey of a call or email telling me that the payment did not go through and within 5 business days they shut off my electricity. I was out with my kids in the cold and trying to call them and then they tell me that my payment was declined. On top of that to cover their asses they lied they had sent an email and i get an email the next day morning saying my card was declined after i had already restored power.

I never choose Cirro energy as my provider but my account was sold to them through Pioneer Energy and now I am stuck in a contract with a company which sucks and doesn't even inform the owners and shuts down the power.

Horrible customer service and experience with the company

PS
January 16th, 2019

Thank you for bringing your issue to our attention. This is not the experience we want for our loyal customers. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1701, and contact information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up with Cirro Energy....The customer service sucks!

(1 / 5)

  The Cirro Energy recently merge with Power Express and they bill me twice for one month. Once by Power Express and again by Cirro Energy, each for 15 days interval. I had a contract with Power Express to receive $80 rebates if my usage was more than 800 kwh, Power Express honored the contract and refund me $40 for 1/2 month. Cirro Energy refused to honor it even though they indicated that my contract with Power Express will be honored with same term and pricing. I spend 1/2 hours talking to Cirro Energy customer service without any resolution. This was my first dealing with them and they are terrible company. Stay away from them....

Abby B
January 7th, 2019

Hi Abby, we're sorry to hear you're unhappy with your plan. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1702, and contact information so we may assist you.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro is horrible

(1 / 5)

  I switched to Cirro in August. Everyone of my Bill's have come late. Every bill o get sent a 10 disconnect notice charge and a 15 late fee. I tried to pay my November bill online and was told my credit card expired that I had originally set up my account with. There is no place on the website for me to update my credit card nor can I chose auto pay. Every month I have to pay over phone. I should of never switched from my previous provider. I was with them 5 years and never had any issues. I switched to save money and so far I have paid 100 in bs fees.

Chris
December 20th, 2018

Hi Chris, we're sorry to learn of these billing issues. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1703, and contact information so we may look into this.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't get levelized billing

(1.8 / 5)

  Went to levelized monthly billing and they charged me the monthly charge after one week saying that was when the meter was read. Never explained that to me when I signed on.Not cool but I should have expected it.

Ronny P
December 10th, 2018

Thank you for bringing your issue to our attention. This is not the experience we want for our loyal customers. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1704, and contact information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What a joke

(1 / 5)

  We were involuntarily switched to Cirro when they bought the provider we were with. After two months of not receiving a bill, welcome letter, anything, I tracked down whom I was switched to in order to avoid service interruption. They had been sending it to a completely different address. I set up an online account and it showed that I was in a contract with them until October 1st, 2018. Since the rate was higher than the going rate, I made a note to contact them. On Oct 6th I logged in to see what number to call to discuss a new plan and saw that my bill had jumped up 7 cents per kilowatt. What???? Ok, the contract is out, I'll get that fixed. I call and proceed to have the most asinine conversation. First they tell me that I was month to month and didn't have a contract. I pointed out that my online profile says that I do. He looks. Him - Oh, that just means that the rate you were paying wouldn't go up before that date but it wasn't a contract. Me - then why is listed as the "CONTRACT END DATE"? Him - thats just what we call it but its not a contract. ??????? Me - Ok, the contract that isn't really a contract ended on Oct 1st and my statement was generated on Oct 3rd but ya'll charged me the increased rate for the entire period, not just the 2 days. Can we get this fixed? Him - No, unfortunately we can't have two rates in a period. Me - So you're telling me that you are going to charge me an EXTRA $150 because I didn't cancel my contract that wasn't really a contract on the expiration day (but not really because it wasn't a contract)? Him - Well, if you sign up for a 24 month plan, I can see if I can get the rate retroactive to the 3rd. Me - And what about the overcharge on the current bill? Him - No, I'm sorry, I can't adjust that. Me - You honestly think I would sign a contract with you when you are overcharging me by $150 right now???? Him - There's nothing I can do.

By the way, this was a supervisor. I hope he doesn't have an employment contract that turns out not to really be a contract.

Heather
October 12th, 2018

Thank you for reaching out. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to investigate this issue. Will you please email Feedback@CirroEnergy.com with your account number, REF# 1503-2 and the best phone number to reach you at so we may locate the account, escalate this issue for review and reach out to assist?

Cirro Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Energy Inconsistent With Electricity Facts Label Terms Disclosure

(1 / 5)

 
Cirro Energy, (parent company is NRG [U.S. Retailers L.L.C.] which is the largest retail electric provider in Texas with subsidiaries Reliant Energy, Green Mountain, and Pennywise), bought out another electric company that I had a contract with, Pioneer Energy. In the Houston Chronicle in the Energy section on August 1, 2018, they quoted spokeswoman Pat Hammond, Cirro will honor the contract terms including the price of energy for the duration of the contracts.
On August 21st, 2018, Cirro took over my electric services and on that same date, I received an email telling me I was now enrolled in a Cirro plan called Smart Simple 36 that after talking to Cirro customer service representatives, was told consisted of 12.9 cents per kWh for three years rather than my Pioneer contract that is one year at 8.34 cents per kWh. I was told repeatedly for over a month by Cirro representatives that Pioneer Energy had submitted my contract information that showed that my contract was 12.9 cents kWh for 3 years. This was in spite of my submitting by email to: service@care.cirroenergy.com, my copies of Pioneers Electricity Facts Label, Terms of Service and Rights as a Customer. Also I was told by Pioneer that they had submitted the correct paperwork and to wait and see if they bill me correctly. I was billed according to the Pioneer contract but on the bill, it still showed my plan as Smart Secure 36. During this time, the Texas Public Utility Commission (PUC) was involved.
Then on September 20, 2018, Cirro emailed me a copy of my contract that was supposed to have been revised but it STILL showed 12.9 cents per kWh for 3 years. The following day, I received a phone call from Cirros headquarters in Plano, TX, who again told me that my former company, Pioneer Energy, had sent my contract information to Cirro, that showed it to be 12.9 cents per kWh for 3 years. Then after I showed the PUC the most recent contract sent by Cirro, Cirros management told the PUC that they had accidentally sent the wrong contract!
Cirro sent another contract but it STILL shows the length of the contract for 3 years. The Texas PUC closed out the complaint anyway, just citing them only for inconsistencies with the Electricity Facts Label (EFL) Terms disclosure and recommended Cirro provide me with a corrected EFL that shows the correct terms. This Texas PUC report was written on 9/24/2018 and I also requested a corrected EFL, but I am still waiting for the Electricity Facts Label that reflects my actual Pioneer Energy terms!
I do not understand how a legal contract that is to be honored and was specifically written into the terms of the buyout, is not cause for regulatory agencies like the Texas PUC to take more definitive action to protect consumer rights. I was in this complaint process for over a month with the Texas PUC and Cirro, but instead of Cirro immediately sending the corrected contract that very first day of the complaint, I waited over a full month to finally get a slightly modified contract that STILL was not corrected to the terms of my previous contract with Pioneer!
And still the Texas PUC closed it out!
Also a fair warning to everyone: whenever you sign up for any electricity service, it is imperative that you save a copy of your Electricity Facts Label as this is your legal contract with that company and without it, unethical companies like NRG and their subsidiaries can, at will, tell customers that the contract information received from the former electricity company is more costly and for longer lengths than what your actual contract terms actually were, and trap you into contracts that are not legal if you dont protect yourself.
So, in closing, how would you define the problem? Would you define it like the Texas PUC, as only an inconsistency by Cirro Energy to disclose what my contract terms were after the buyout? Or do you see this as a more serious issue for Cirro customers?

Tired of Tone-Deaf Companies
October 10th, 2018

Thank you for reaching out. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to investigate this issue. Will you please email Feedback@CirroEnergy.com with your account number, REF# 1701 and the best phone number to reach you at so we may locate the account, escalate this issue for review and reach out to assist?

Cirro Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I paid way to much for my electricity with Cirro

(2.4 / 5)

  When I got my first bill with Cirro I couldn't believe they were charging me an electricity delivery charge that almost equaled my electricity charges. The next month it was the same and the month after that. I changed electric companies quick after that last bill. All the other companies I spoke with pass along some of the delivery charges but not almost doubling your bill.

CirroNoMore
September 10th, 2018

Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We apologize for your billing issues. We would love to speak with you to see if there's anything we can do to resolve this problem for you. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1700, and contact information so we may look into this further.

Cirro Energy Responds October 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Signed Me Up for Unauthorized Onerous Plan During Transfer of Pioneer Buyout

(1 / 5)

  Nature of complaint: Contract Issues
Problem description:
Cirro Energy bought out Pioneer Energy and both companies stated they would honor all remaining contracts from Pioneer. It was stated on websites and emails sent to customers. However, I received an email from Cirro stating I was signed up for their Smart Simple 36 Plan which turns out to be a 3 year contract with Cirro Energy at about 13 cents per kWh. I never signed up for this and dont want it EVER! My remaining contract with Pioneer is until August 31st, 2019 at .0834 cents per kWh with no service charges and no charges if below a certain level of use (as some plans have). It is a fixed .0834 cents/kWh. I have all the relevant contract paperwork from Pioneer and submitted it online to Cirro and Pioneer Energy also submitted my contract information to Cirro. I was told the correct contract would be straightened out & in writing by August 31st.
It has been over three weeks that Cirro has taken over my service & Cirro STILL has me down for the plan THEY signed me up for; I have called & emailed so that I can set up my online account & set up auto bill pay but I cannot do any of that until they put the correct contract in writing! I also asked them when my first bill would be due & they told me to contact CenterPoint Energy & refused to answer the question. When they respond back by email, it takes them 5-6 days to respond and their answers are unhelpful and illogical & do not address their plan of when my correct contract will be sent to me. They appear obstructive in their behaviors.
Desired Outcome:
Correct contract in writing in timely manner that reflects Pioneer Energy contract terms as stated during transfer between Pioneer and Cirro. End of obstructive behaviors and more timely customer service responses that reflect problem-solving skills. Note: I did NOT choose Cirro Energy as my service provider, I did NOT choose the Smart Simple Plan they STILL have me enrolled in, and I will NOT choose them in the future when I actually DO have a choice! There is a pattern of Cirro Energy doing this to customers that were acquired by business buyouts promising the same contract rates & then later blaming the former company for not providing the correct paperwork dating back to 2011 and possibly even longer than that. This is an unethical, predatory company with a long, long history of this and other customer abuses. Where is Texas consumer protection laws? From where Im standing, they appear to be completely gone and illegal, corrupt business practices are thriving in Texas every single day thanks to removal of regulatory clout that State and Federal agencies use to have (due to legislative changes paid for by companies like Cirro and its parent company NRG with their other subsidiaries consisting of Reliant, Green Mountain and Pennywise).
They do not respond to emails any longer and even though they have all the proof they need regarding my previous Pioneer contract, they will not put it in writing so that I am assuming it will cause a late fee on purpose and the start of a highly acrimonious relationship!! I have an excellent credit rating and have no tolerance for these kinds of businesses!!! I have not signed in online as I will not agree to any service agreement with Cirro until my CORRECT contract with Pioneer is in WRITING and I have made that very clear to Cirro. The only contract I have is with Pioneer that I have actually signed and agreed to!!

Consider This 75
September 9th, 2018

Your business is important to us, and we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to look into this issue. Please give us a call at 1-800-692-4776 to speak with one of our customer service representatives or email us your name/address/account number and this issue to service@cirroenergy.com so we may locate the account and further investigate. Thanks!

Cirro Energy Responds September 28th, 2018

After filing complaints with both Texas Public Utility Commission (Texas PUC) & Better Business Bureau of North Central Texas that lasted over a month in duration, Cirro still had failed to correct the contract until the Texas PUC intervened and Cirro FINALLY after all that effort, sent a revised contract reflecting Pioneers contract RATE but it STILL shows the LENGTH of the contract at 3 years (instead of the remaining 1 year) so the Texas PUC wrote them up for continuing inconsistencies with the Substantive Rule 25.475 General Retail Electric Provider Requirements and Information Disclosures to Residential and Small Commercial Customers Electricity Facts Label Term Disclosure.
In spite of my attempts to contact Cirros customer service and their Escalation Department at email address: escalatedissues@cirroenergy.com listed on the Better Business Bureau website, no one responded back (to continued requests to correct the contract to its correct contract length)! Cirro continues to confuse the issue i.e. the actual contract terms that were to be honored after the buyout from Pioneer Energy and instead of correcting the contract to these terms, continues to alter the terms by not making the current Electricity Facts Label from Cirro accurate. Cirro says the correct things to the regulators, such as they plan to honor the former companys contracts that they have bought out but I have found that if your original contract has low rates & it is not profitable for Cirro, they will ASSIGN you a contract of THEIR choosing! HANG on to ALL your ELECTRICITY FACTS LABELS when you sign up for any electricity product (like I did), so if that company is bought out, you can prove the old contracts TRUE terms and not be taken advantage of by unscrupulous businesses. But even with my own copy, Cirro STILL would NOT change it until I had gone to multiple agencies for help. I am afraid without this paperwork, Cirro would take full advantage of the situation and assign you to a high rate, long term plan just as they tried so hard to do to me. Cirro does NOT honor contracts (as stated by this company during buyouts) when it is not profitable and has become so brazen that they now even challenge those individuals WITH their own copies of their contracts from the (bought out) former company.

Consider This 75 Replies December 31st, 1969
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They purchased my account from another company..been with them for the last 3 years

(4.2 / 5)

  My account was with another company for 2 years - then Cirro as I understand it purchased all the accounts. The transition period was not so good...but they gave & I gave so we came to a good understanding. They keeped the rate I had with my old company as I checked mine was lower then theirs. So for the last three years I have asked for a better rate, standing on my own payment record, I pay what is due before the paper bill is sent out and I have never been late. Now coming up in late August-September my contract will come due again...I asked for a good rate again with longer terms and received a good rate again with them, as of this writing July 19, 2018 no one has the same rate. I asked on a rate based on 1500 kwh...some months we are over, some months we are lower so 1500 is a good to average on. As of this writing - I most likely will sign again with them. I read my bill on line by the 14th of every month and paid it rounding up to the next dollar. I have done this with what ever company for the last 40 years and I have a great track record. I pay by my bank. My bank sends them money - they do not draw it out from my account - no one does that at all. I not work the heacke at all.

True Texas Woman from the Beach area.
July 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ordering experience was a nightmare

(3 / 5)

  It took them 2 months to get me converted all because of their independent contracter vetting experience. They don't call u back in a timely manner and when the call u they don't let a message.

dkc
June 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro

(1 / 5)

  I did everything too have cirro for my energy provider and they never followed thur to be my energy provider. now I'm stuck with high electric cost from my old provider.

Duane
June 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible customer service and scam with all their extra charges

(1.4 / 5)

  Had Cirro for several years now. Rates have been very competitive but that's all the good I have experienced. Had to report them once to Texas Utility Commission as they had my monthly bills and payments all messed up and just kept piling on extra charges thinking I owed them money. Their customer service is pitiful and treat you like "money payment" and could care less about a customer. Only reason I have renewed is their rates but you have to call in for best renewal rates.

David in the Fort
May 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They sell you a fantastic plan and as soon as you get on it they change it!

(1 / 5)

  Was sold a plan and as soon as we were signed up they changed the rate. TXU did the same thing also. WE are on SSI and needed an affordable rate. They lie and tell you anything to sigh you up and then switch and bait you.

David
May 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor billing and customer service practices

(1.4 / 5)

  Came home yesterday to find our power had been shut off, which I thought odd because we had just paid our bill via bank draft. Called Cirro, and representative stated power had been shut off due to non-payment. When we explained that we had paid, even showing proof that the money had come out of our account, customer service still stated they did not see a payment. We received no notice ahead of time of delinquincy (which we weren't) and no notice of warning of shut off). We paid the bill a SECOND time while on the phone, via debit card, and they sent a work order to Centerpoint to turn the power back on. However, because it was after 6 pm (or 5:30, depending on who you asked) there was no guarantee that the power would be back on that evening. Multiple different customer service agents told us multiple things about whether the work order was priority or not, whether Centerpoint had 2 hours or 24 hours to turn power back on, etc. They could not even tell whether Centerpoint had received the work order (Centerpoint stated for the entire evening that it was not received). The lack of communication between the two companies, and the disparate information coming from alll of the agents, was astounding and disappointing, and we will be looking for another power company as soon as possible.

Krysten P.
April 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Use Cirro

(1.4 / 5)

  I switched to Cirro because my brother recommended them. Big mistake. I signed up during a good promotion of 8.3 KWh in February. I called to ask questions. I was going to sign up for web exclusive. The rep said she could do it for me so I did. (Don't believe them because they will mess you up.) I thought everything was set up for March 13. On March 12th I found out that my contract was cancelled. I called and spoke to someone. I was having a bad day. The rep said a mistake was made and it was cancelled because the utilities commission thought there were 3 TXU accounts. So I asked about signing on line to get the Web exclusive. I wanted the $50 credit for the first bill. As the guy was talking he gave me a different plan and I wasn't paying attention. I received an email that stated I had the web exclusive plan. To make a long story short, I was signed up to a different plan. Part of it is my fault for not paying attention but I got the email that said it was the web exclusive. When I spoke to Cirro about it, the supervisor didn't want my email. He said the voice conversation said I agreed to the smart secure 12 plan not the web exclusive. (I think he didn't allow me to hear the whole thing because I know I mentioned the $50 credit.) You would think because of the misunderstanding, I would be given some kind of discount. Now no discount and a higher KWh. I should have stayed with Ambit. I(Since I see the low reviews for Cirro, I am going to drop them when contract is up.)

tg
April 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Use your power to choose!!

(1 / 5)

  website has glitches. Call the 800 number and you will either get disconnected or it will be busy most of the time.
I've been with them for years but it's all about making money, not service. From now on I will choose a provide who values SERVICE...isn't that really all they have to sell? They don't produce power, they don't own the distribution lines...it's ONLY service...choose wisely! After having my electricity turned off due to the website not working and then getting a busy signal when I called the 800 line (after being disconnected) I'm moving on.

Unhappy Customer
April 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Jacking Up Prices

(1 / 5)

  After paying 7.4 cents for the last two years, Cirro raised my billing by 2.5 cents per kw! That's a $90 upcharge for the bill. No notification, period. And then while checking out my billing online, I see that they have jacked it up another penny per kw again for the next bill.That's a $115 upcharge from my previous rate. THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS!.

JB
February 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...