First Choice Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for First Choice Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 3.1 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 3.0 of 5.

First Choice Power Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

150 Reviews and 148 Replies for First Choice Power


First choice power

(1.2 / 5)

  STOP GO ELSEWHERE FOR ELECTRIC!!!!!!!!!!! Ok where do i being I moved out of my apartment on the 1spet2019 called first choice power to have my lights disconnected. So a few days later recd a txt from previous address showing lights were still activated. Oh yea aslo had new service at the apartment i had moved too with the same company. So i called back was informed previous order for disconnecting light was not completed n needed to put in a new 1 this is a week. So this is a week later in process of that my lights at my new was disconnected. So i called first choice power n there were not even able to bring up my account number they provided me n gave me the old address n acct instead of the new address. So here it us 2weeks later and im still having them same problem. My previous address where the lights should be off are still on and off at my new residence. Also the money that was in my new acct they took abd applied to my old acct. So now i have no lights at my new address because of there mistake. The money that was on tge old acct should have been transferred not. So now i have to add money to my new acct because they did not follow thru on disconnecting my lights at the old resident. This does not make any sense DONOT GO THRU FIRST CHOICE POWER U PAY FOR THERE POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, NOT UNDERSTANDING ENGLISH AND MISTAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No thanks
September 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraudulent advertising

(1 / 5)

  Worst electric provider! Highest rates ever experienced! Started off low, but they make up for it after 6months I to contract! Electric bills have exceeded $300 plus for last 4 months for single person who works 12plus hours per day and only home on weekends( with free weekends) supposedly!!!! Do not sign up with this provider, there are more negative than positive comments on other sites!

Kimberly Taylor
September 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars and theifs

(1.4 / 5)

  Everything they promised me from the plan to the "accurate" daily usage texts eventually all was false. I ended up soendong 15 dollars a day with them!!

Kelly
July 9th, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review, Kelly. We certainly apologize for the frustration that this experience has caused and want to help make things right. Please email us at digitalcare@directenergy.com with your full name, service address, account number and phone number so that we assist you further. Have a momentous day!

First Choice Power Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Difficult to deal with

(2.2 / 5)

  I accidentally disputed my final bill and the credit card company (Citicards) refunded it. I'm not sure if they checked because it shouldn't have been accepted. Afterward First Choice Power wouldn't accept credit card or checking account payments. What they didn't say was they would only accept cash or debit card which was discovered by process of elimination at a bill pay center.

Leroy
June 27th, 2019

Hi Leroy,

We certainly would like to apologize for the frustration and inconvenience caused by this situation. If there is anything that we can do to help improve your experience, please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

First Choice Power Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  If I could give ZERO STARS I would! First lets start by their customer service is horrendous, any time I've called for a complaint which has been a couple of times their agents continously say "let me see what we can do to help you" when in all reality they are NOT trying to help, they advised there isnt anything they can do. They gave me the run around stating to call Oncor who advsied to contact FCP to dispute the charge, then FCP states they are giving me the incorrect information. I've continously have issues when I'm out of town. I will be gone for the weekend and when I come back I get emails stating I've used about 5 dollars when I'm not there! THIS MAKES NO SENSE!!!!!!!! And ever crazier thing is I live in a 1 bedroom apartment. When I am home after work they state that my meter reads 7-8 dollars on average, and that to me is ABSURD! When I previously had them at my last one bedroom apartment I had no issued my meter used to read 4-5 dollars when I got home from work and when I wasnt home the max my meter read was $1.50. DO NOT GET SERVICE THROUGH THEM!!!!!!!! I HATE IT SO MUCH IN THE PROCESS OF CANCELING MY SERVICES. 469-418-3717 IS MY NUMBER IF ONE OF YOU "MANAGERS OR CEO" WHOEVER WANTS TO CALL ME ABOUT IT! MAYBE they will help me but thats a strong maybe.

ERICA TORRES
June 19th, 2019

Hi Erica,

We regret to hear that you had this kind of experience with our company. In regards to usage consumption and meter readings that is handled directly by the local utility and reported to us for billing purposes. Should you need to dispute usage or utility charges, you may do so by contacting the utility directly. In addition, there is the www.smartmetertexas.com website if you would like to register and review your usage directly from your meter at any time of day.

First Choice Power Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont Use First Choice Power

(1.4 / 5)

  It has worst usage and billing calculation system. Avoid to use First choice Power.

pk
February 26th, 2019

Good Afternoon PK,


We wanted to take a moment to apologize that your experience was less than exceptional and would like to assist you in properly addressing your concerns. Please feel free to contact customer care via email, phone or live chat for clarification of usage and billing concerns. Thank you and we look forward to resolving your issue.

-Marie

First Choice Power Responds May 6th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My experience

(5 / 5)

  I was very easy to switch over online!

Stacie Strebeck
December 2nd, 2018

Thanks Stacie! We are glad to hear your experience online went well! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely awful

(1 / 5)

  First off, they signed me up for the wrong contract. I was looking for a contract for over 1000KWH because I know I go over that. I get locked into a contract that charges me $185 dollars for going over 1000 KWH. I never would have signed up for that contract, and that is not what I agreed to in the first place. I reported them to the state of Texas but nothing could be proven, even though they never emailed me a EFL when I signed up. They couldn't prove they didn't mail me one, even though I know they didn't do that either. The only one I saw was the one on powertochoose that made me click to sign up for their company in the first place, which did not have teir pricing or that ridiculous fee. Any company that has that fee should be shut down. I wasn't able to do anything about it so I just had to stick it out the 6 months, luckily that's all I signed up for. Their website is atrocious, there's barely any real helpful information on it and it doesn't work well. When we moved I tried to do it online and they tried to automatically sign me up for a longer contract, hoping I wouldn't notice I guess. I had to call their customer service to transfer service. Their customer service must be outsourced, they're nice enough and try to help but we always have trouble understanding each other and for my next problem I got a different answer from everyone I spoke to. I went to make last month's payment online and the website put it through twice. I called to get the extra one refunded, was told no problem give us 7-10 days. I waited, I called back. Oh, no we aren't going to send a refund we just do a credit on your account. Ok, that's been there since before I called the first time and the last person said I'd get a refund. Oh, yeah I see that now. Yeah we sent it out yesterday. I gave it 3 business days because I was told by my bank it shouldn't take any longer than that. I called FCP back. Oh, no we never sent a refund, but there was an inquiry put through to see if we could. But no you're not going to get a refund. But maybe. I don't know. Your account has a credit for the refund amount and that's all we can do. The guy went back and forth and couldn't really decide whether I would or not, but at this point I figure I'm not. I give up, the credit is fine but it would've been nice if that had been told to me the first time. It'll cover the next two bills hopefully until my contract is up. Guess what shows up 4 days after my bill was due this month? My refund. So now I have to go pay this month's balance LATE. So I'm sure I'll be calling them back once they put a late fee on my next bill that wasn't my fault. Today I am looking for a new provider so I go to look at my bills again to get information and there's a late fee for last month, which I did not pay late. They got the double payment before the due date. So I called and was told it was credited back to my account. We'll see. This guy had the heaviest accent so far and I'm not sure he understood what I was talking about at all but he definitely kept trying to get me to renew my contract with FCP. Not gonna happen, I've had an issue every month of the 6 months I've been with them. Worst electric company ever. They are untrustworthy and make having an electric provider a hassle.

fackFCP
November 5th, 2018

We are sorry to see that you had a poor experience. We are actively working to improve our customer experiences and hope you will give us another chance! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid if possible this electric company

(1 / 5)

  This is the most disorganized Company i had the displeasure of dealing with, They are overpriced and do not even read the meters. They are all majority Hispanic and do not clearly speak English. The people are rude when confronted about a problem on a bill. They do not honor what supposed to be a CEO of the company on a problem stated it will be correct without further problems by said Company. The people are inadequate in speaking clearly in English . The problem is still not solved and is ongoing.

Avoid First Choice Power
October 11th, 2018

We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback for us. We do not want our customers to have a poor experience overall and are working to improve! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars!

(1 / 5)

  First off if you sign up and you are low income or 60 years or older make sure that you sign up with an agent so that you can be offered to get your deposit waived. I enrolled online and it DID NOT give me the option to sign up for my deposit to be waived until after the payment was made. I was told by two agents that I could get the deposit once my service was active upon enrollment. Once the service was connected I called to get the deposit waived and they said they couldnt waive it because I had already paid which is NOWHERE in writing. Had I signed up with an agent MAYBE they would have offered to waive it. On top of that they told me my service would be connected in 2-4 hours I enrolled at 7 pm my service wasnt connected until the next afternoon. We went all night without lights because they didnt put the order in until 9:50 pm!! I was late for work the next morning due to this inconvenience of not being able to see in the dark! They offered a 50$ credit to my account AFTER they lied about my deposit STILL putting money in their OWN pockets not upholding their word is a big problem! Already starting off on the WRONG foot! I hate liars.....

Unique
September 26th, 2018

Thank you Unique for your feedback. We do not want our customers to have a poor experience overall and are working to improve! - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My experience

(5 / 5)

  Since I have switched to this company I am overwhelmingly pleased with the service and rates that I have. There were no hidden fees and the bills are really low in cost compared to the previous company that I had!

Alicia Williams
August 23rd, 2018

Yay! We are so glad to hear you are happy with our company! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. -Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Best

(5 / 5)

  I have been approached many many times by other vendors to change from first Choice Power. I have been with this company at least 40 years and I have not found any reason yet to change. Reliable, dependable service and customer service is always available. ( a human being)

Sweet Jennings
August 16th, 2018

Words cannot express our happiness that you have stayed with us for so long and have been so willing to tell others about your experience at FCP! We truly appreciate your loyalty and are here to help with any questions or concerns that you may have in the future! Thanks again for such an amazing review! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(4.8 / 5)

  Great electric company

Debra
August 14th, 2018

Thanks Debra! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review :) - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of Sneaky Practices and Fees...

(1.6 / 5)

  Initially the rates seem very good, but beware of sneaky fees! If you happen to be late paying your bill, not only do they charge you a late fee (as I would expect), but they also charge a fee called a 'Collection Recovery Fee' of $29.95. This is triggered when they mail you a letter reminding you that you are late - not disconnected, mind you, but just a few days late. They explain this as covering the costs of printing and mailing you a letter. The law does not allow such a fee to be charged as a late fee, but since they don't technically call it a late fee, they are skirting the rules and sneaking it in there. As soon as my contract is up, I am outta here. With these kinds of shady charges factored in, the rates are not as reasonable as they seem. Beware...

Aaron in Dallas
July 29th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your frustrations with our billing. In regards to the fees, a 5% late fee is applied if bills are paid past the due date. Collection Recovery fees are applied when the amount goes too far past due and we need to send out a Disconnection Notice to our customers. We do have Extensions or Payment Arrangements available for our customers that we can apply to the accounts, to suppress any of those CRF charges that might get applied. We definitely do want to work with each of our customers to ensure that we are meeting their needs and being flexible if there is any time they need a little bit more time to pay any amount due. If you have any questions about this, or to discuss those options further, please email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com with your account information. Thanks! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst order experience

(1.2 / 5)

  Have to make two order numbers because they messed up. Second order went through but with incorrect information. To correct the information, you still need to send them fax which I find very primitive.
Also, some miscellaneous fees starting to come out. Really made a big mistake on choosing this one.
Can't wait for my contract to finish

Big Mistake
July 26th, 2018

We regret to hear about the enrollment process that you went through! We definitely strive to make sure that enrollments go through correctly the first time, and we apologize that we missed that mark. For each enrollment, we do process a soft credit check and based on the results of that report, further verification information might be required, especially if you have secured your Social Security Information. We want to make sure that we keep all your information private and ensure that it is actually you completing the enrollment. We truly want to make sure that if there are any fees being applied on your account that aren't being explained, that we speak to those! Could you please email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com with your account information so we may look into this further for you! Thanks - Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When problems arise, true value seen.

(4.6 / 5)

  I was dropped by Breeze energy leaving Texas market and I was switched to provider of last resort (POLR) that I didn't want in less than 12 hours after first notification. UNHAPPY! Decided on First Choice and chose at Power-To-Choose. First billing messed up by TNMP but First choice corrected it promptly. The real test of good customer support is when things go wrong. I was happy with First Choice response and ability to reach and talk to their customer support. Bill corrected, happy again.

Happy Again
July 8th, 2018

We're so happy to hear that despite the drop by Breeze Energy, that everything went smoothly for you! We completely understand that situations like that can be stressful, but we are thankful that we were able to get everything up and running with us very quickly. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experiences with us. Please let us know if you have any other questions in the future! We are always a call or email away. Have a wonderful week. Thanks! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The tech person

(5 / 5)

  He was very patient with us. The wifi went out it had to be reset . We're seniors so we aren't very tech up to date. He understood that and didn't try to rush us. I wish everyone could be like him. AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Look it up
July 7th, 2018

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. Have a great week! - Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far they have billed me as expected. Nothing hidden.

(4.8 / 5)

  I selected a plan that best suits our needs. Now let's see if they have a similar plan for returning customers. Too many providers bait you and jack the rates up when you try to sign up again. Time will tell. Very
pleased so far.

Don
July 6th, 2018

We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our service thus far and left a 5-star review for us! When it comes to renewals, there are a few ways to see rates from inside your Online Account, to calling or even using our Live Chat feature online. We'd be happy to assist you any time if you have any questions we can help with. Have a wonderful week! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service representative Rude

(2.2 / 5)

  She didn't allow me to speak, interrupt me multiple times. Ruth didn't have no listening skills. She force me to be place on hold after I told her PUC need to get involved on the calls. Great plans
Terrible customer service

Agent name: Ruth 19406


July 5th, 2018

We're so sorry to hear about the experience you had with one of our Customer Service Phone representatives! We take pride in our customer service, and we are sad to hear that we may have missed the mark with your experience. If you have any questions in the future, you could always use email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com or try calling and speaking with a different agent. We hope to also have a Live Chat online feature available soon, so keep an eye out for that as well. Please feel free to reach out if you have any additional questions or concerns. Thanks - Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Service and ridiculous pricing

(1 / 5)

  no notice for ending contract, and extremely high rates set in immediately.

Never Recommend!
July 3rd, 2018

We sincerely apologize for your experience and we want to make sure that all of your concerns are addressed. You should always have the end date of your contract on the second page of your billing statement, and you should also be able to see the details of your contract within your Online Account with the rate and expiration date listed. We are not going to renew you to a new fixed rate program without full consent from our customers just to make sure there are not any changes made on your account without your approval. If a new rate is not selected, the month to month variable pricing would start. This current summer, we have experienced many changes in the Energy market which has put a lot of demand for electricity as well as several power plant closures. With these strains, prices this last summer have increased, but we should see decreases start this next month. We'd be more than willing to go over the specifics of your account if you could email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com. Thank you -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...