Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.1 of 5.

Frontier Utilities Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

157 Reviews and 83 Replies for Frontier Utilities


False Advertisements

(1 / 5)

  Worst customer Service.I should have done more research before I actually got into a contract with them.My Bill is close to $300 and I'm hardly home.I unplug everything.Called to see why my bill is high and the response I got was a rude foreign man saying Well that's the plan you chose not our fault.I asked why they are charging me an extra $75 for base fee,he continue to argue.I got annoyed and said I will just change Service.

Melissa
July 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Payed highest electric bill ever!

(1.4 / 5)

  They offered 7.3 cents for 2000 kWh and then put in the contract 16.60 cents per kWh for over 2000 kWh. I have never paid over $600 for an electric bill or anything close in my 45 years on this earth! Absolutely ridiculous and a terrible company!

Courtney Cox
July 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't be late

(1.8 / 5)

  My mail was routed to a neighbor at my new home. But given that the company only gives you 14 days to pay your bill or they charge you $25 for being one day late and send you a letter threatening to turn off your power the day after is simply ridiculous. Most power companies send the bill out at least 3 weeks in advance so if on vacation etc. you have time to get it in without late.

Then customer service is so noise and the people can only read scripted answers. Awful - moving to another company!

dissatisfied customer
July 1st, 2019

Hello, Dissatisfied Customer from 77009,
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning the issues that you have faced with us, we'll be more than happy to review your account to look into the additional fees charged in your account. Feel free to contact us at Resolution@frontierutilities.com to further assist you.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds July 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

There's always a catch...

(2.8 / 5)

  Frontier had the best rates so, of course, I went with them. My first bill was $29. I was over the moon! Next bill...$74. How is that possible when we didn't use any more energy than the month before?? Since they have to go thru Oncor to get the energy, Oncor charges $26 JUST for the ability to use their services. That and having to use the air conditioner more. I wasn't prepared for that (since that charge was NOT explained in the fine print!). The website wouldn't let me update my new address, I had to leave a message with customer service (via email) to ask them to do it for me. It also sends email estimates of what your COULD be and you cannot how much your next bill is until it is really close to when the bill is actually due. I would've rather paid to have Oncor directly had I known it would charge me that much per month (especially since Frontier said on their page, they had "no hidden fees," but that fee was never spoken about. I just really hope there are no more surprises.

Nani1604
June 19th, 2019

Hello, by Nani1604 from 75287,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you with your account. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds July 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Power Choice

(5 / 5)

  From start until now, simple and no rate surprises!

Ann Sanders
June 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Service

(1.4 / 5)

  Frontier website only allows payments and referrals. Everything else must be done over the phone, US mail or email. Called in to change address and could not understand the agent who spoke with heavy eastern european accent. Automated email response for Memorial Day is a week old. They still haven't checked the email box.

Poor Service
May 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$159 base fee is just ridiculous

(2 / 5)

  Had an ad 0.07c per Kw but ended up having $159 bill every month. I dont even use much in a small apartment. I just feel cheated. When i called and asked, there was nothing can be done to fix this. I had to cancel service and go with another carrier. Not recommended.

david truong
May 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DUPLICITOUS BUSINESS PRACTICES - Please check the Pub Utility Commission's website

(1 / 5)

  This company uses a 3rd parry site "Save On Energy" to advertise for them and accepts ZERO responsibility for how their plans are conveyed. Their ratings are extremely poor on the Public Utility Commission's website, and their rates, unfavorably high. I should have read more reviews about their business practices and customer service history before I signed up for service. For they are certainly the lowest quality and poorly run energy brokerage I've encountered in my 20 years of purchasing electricity.

Beware: they will try to obfuscate massive base rates when they attempt to garner your business. DO NOT engage w/ their services. They operate at the highest level of deceit.

Samantha Nagel
May 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Straight Power Plan very misleading

(1.2 / 5)

  Power to Choose listed this plan for 7.3 cents a KWh what appeared to be up to 2000KWh. Reading the fine print, you pay more than 3x that rate for usage UNDER 2000KWh. Buyer beware.

Suckered Customer
April 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service and Billing and Account Management

(1.4 / 5)

  The employee that signed me up arbitrarly signed me up for electronic invoice instead of regular mail like I requested. I have contacted customer care multiple times both by phone and email trying to get the billing problem corrected but have not been successful. Customer care listens and tells me the problem will be corrected but they don't follow through to make sure it gets corrected. It seems like it would be a very simple fix but they just can't seem to get it done.

Jerry
April 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Discriminate Based On Income and Class

(1.6 / 5)

  If you have bad credit or low income, you will most likely be conned into their prepaid plan. You can expect that your payments must be at least $20 each time you make a payment. Not $10. Not $5. Even if you pay twice a day. You must pay $20 each time. Expect to pay at least $120 a month per every 200 square feet. You will not be able to speak to a rep in the US, and it is extremely difficult to explain anything not within their basic understanding of English and prewritten script. They do not give prepaid customers bills and you are given 24 hours or less notice by text (if your phone gets the text) of a disconnection the next day. You must have enough prepaid by Friday morning to get you through the weekend to Monday. If not, your utilities will be disconnected Friday morning. They will not hold disconnections despite medical conditions either. Bottom line, the less your income the larger your utility bill.

Disatisfied and Disappointed in Houston
April 10th, 2019

Hello Disatisfied And Disappointed In Houston,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

the worst experience ever!!!

(1.6 / 5)

  This company might have been good in 2017 but unfortunately I signed up with them Aug 2018 and it has been a nightmare. It makes me wonder if these reviews are false. I could not get a bill from them, they turned off my electricity, when I tried to phone to get everything sorted they have never been able to correct the problem. They would phone me saying they will get it all straight/sorted/corrected and I could never get in touch with the person who phoned me. Finally I went with a new company for my own sanity's sake. They have now turned it over to a collection agency. I find all of this extremely hard to believe from someone who has excellent credit and just wanted to pay their bill. I think they're going through some tough times and I would NEVER recommend this company. It's fine to make a mistake but have the skills to make it right and let the customer talk to someone who can actually problem solve.

lmc
March 22nd, 2019

Hello Lmc,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for your poor experience with us. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Fell free to contact me at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BE CAREFUL!

(1.4 / 5)

  Make sur you call to continue your current rate. If you miss making the call you will be placed in a variable monthly pool and get burned just like I did this winter. Watch your bills and be aware!

George P.
March 21st, 2019

Hello George P.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problems with Frontier Utilities

(5 / 5)

  Access to Frontier was good, no hassles and application process straightforward

Bob
March 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for this company

(1.4 / 5)

  Got a surprise, my electric bill was going from $140-$170 a month. I renewed my contract with FRONTIER UTILITIES in August. I was shocked when my January electric bill was $438. This is for a two bedroom apartment. I figured some mistake had been made and paid it. This month the electric bill was for $383. I called FRONTIER UTILITIES yesterday. I had to get through two people before I got to a manager. She told me that my usage hadn't changed that much. This is where it got strange. She said that my rates changed in August when I renewed, from 6.3 cents/kilowatt hour to 10.5 cents/kilowatt hour. When I asked why the rates didn't change in August she told me they hadn't changed. I repeated what she had told me the rates were and she agreed that it was correct, but the rates hadn't changed. Now if I sell you a hamburger for $5 this week and $9 next week, and I tell you the price hasn't changed I'm either a idiot or I'm lying. I'm stuck in this contract until August, and you better believe I'll have a new electric provider lined up on July. Until then all I can do is ask you to STAY AWAY FROM FRONTIER UTILITIES.

Steve Williams
February 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deception, deception

(1.2 / 5)

  The paper bills are sent out with different delivery times. There is not enough time from the receipt of the bill to pay it. As a result, and I believe this is purposeful, the chances of being late are greater.
I did not receive my bill on two occasions. If you are unaware you are late, they immediately charge the late fee, but the very next day they charge a :DNP notice fee" of $20.00. This has become a significant burden from this company. During conversations with them about it, they are evasive, and take special glee. Of course, their profit soars when this happens, so they are deliberately indifferent to the problem. I think it is designed this way., forcing people to sign up for direct access to your account (but that has electronic privileges I wish to avoid).
They apologized 8 times, but refused to remove the $25.87.

When I get the next chance, and am not locked into their contract, my response will be "good bye"

Critic at large
February 21st, 2019

Hello Critic At Large,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for your poor experience with us. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Feel free to contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not EVER choose Frontier.

(1 / 5)

  Like most below, I fell for the bait and switch, too.

But wait, there's more! Once my usually-$75 bill tripled the first month after my contract renewed! Excpected, now that I look at the reviews, but that's not the end. After calling and screaming (literally screaming) for hours and days at anyone I could get on the phone at this company, I finally got in touch with a manager willing to actually do something. Nothing useful, unfortunately - My bill's lower now, but it's still more than double what I paid before (My bill this month was $291 dollars. For a 550 sq. ft, 1 bedroom apartment. Insane.)

Never expect to be able to make a payment arrangement with the company, either. I made one - They insisted I make half of the payment right then, and the other half in no more than 3 days. NEVER more than three days. Also; You can only get one payment arrangement per 6 months. If you break that payment arrangement, like, in my case, my billpay ended up not processing the payment until the day after, they block you from having ANY payment arrangement of any kind for 12 months after.

I also had $100 of disconnect and reconnect fees on my account this month. Despite the fact that I paid them by the date listed on my notice. When I called them, they offered to waive it. Which was great. Until they explained that they'd only be waiving half of it, and that it wouldn't be waived. I'd still have to pay the full $100+ dollars in disconnect/reconnect fees, they'll just add the extra $50 they expect me to pull out of nowhere to my next bill as a credit instead. That is INSANE. You cannot make a billing mistake and then force a customer to pay anyway. That's absolutely disgusting.

Frontier Utilities is a collective of filth, scum, and cockroaches in human flesh. Their employees have no empathy and no power. Their managers are about as understanding and filthy as your average garbage pail. Stay far, Far, FAR away from this company, unless you enjoy having your energy bill randomly higher every single billing cycle, and a company that sees absolutely no value whatsoever in retaining and helping their customers.

I've already reported them to the Texas PUC and the Better Business Bureau, as well as the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. I've also recently begun speaking with a lawyer regarding a pending class action lawsuit against their company for the exact practices I and many others have mentioned on this review board.

Matthew Leonard
February 11th, 2019

Hello Matthew Leonard,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli (or else) and I reviewed your account, I see that the issue was escalated and further investigated. Feel free to call our friendly customer service to answer any questions you may have PH#866-926-8192.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away From Frontier

(2.8 / 5)

  They hook you in with a decent rate, and boy, are you in for an unpleasant surprise when you get your bill. I was with them for 4 months, and got outrageous bills for a small apartment, that sits empty for 2 to3 weeks out of the month. They have a penalty for getting out of the contract but it is worth paying to avoid being swindle with a high bill every month.

MCM
February 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE MOST EXPENSIVE ELECTRIC BILLING COMPANY

(1.6 / 5)

  They will promise to help you save. Its the fees they charge that get you. When u sign the contract with them. They know u cant switch without paying that very high cancellation fee. So they start with $20 fees here $6 there before you know it. You are paying an average of $34-$96 in fees more every month on top of your electric usage

Baura
February 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service is Terrible

(1 / 5)

  For 11 months after we received the first bill, we asked for an address correction. EVERY MONTH. They NEVER CORRECTED THE ADDRESS, giving us problems receiving the bill, and problems paying the bill. Because there is an extra letter at the end of our address. ALL THEY HAD TO DO IS DELETE ONE LETTER. AFTER 11 MONTHS IT IS STILL THE SAME. WE ASKED EVERY MONTH FOR THEM TO CHANGE, WHICH EACH TIME THEY SAID THEY WOULD!!!!!!
We WERE then put in a position to call in our payments EVERY FREAKING MONTH. WHICH ENDED UP HAVING US SPEND 1 - 2 HOURS A MONTH JUST TO PAY THE BILL OVER THE PHONE BECAUSE THEIR SYSTEMS DO NOT ACCEPT THAT EXTRA FREAKING LETTER ASSOCIATED WITH OUR ADDRESS. THEY HAVE COSTED MY HUSBAND AND I ALMOST 24 HOURS JUST TO PAY OUR ELECTRIC BILL OVER THE LAST YEAR!!! So. When our contract was up? WE CANCELLED giving notice in November that we were cancelling on the appropriate contract date in December. WHICH THEY JACKED-UP THE PRICE, & DOUBLED OUR CONTRACT AMOUNT FOR THAT MONTH!
SO THEN, AFTER WE PAID THE LAST BILL, WHICH WAS DOUBLE THE USUAL AMOUNT PAYABLE IN DECEMBER, THE MONTH WE ALSO CANCELLED! THEN, TODAY, FEB. 4, 2019, WE GET ANOTHER BILL WITH A DISCONNECT AND RECONNECT FEE OF $50! WE ARE IN CONTRACT WITH ANOTHER ELECTRICITY PROVIDER? I'M POSTING THIS EVERYWHERE, FRONTIER IS A RIP OFF WITH HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

D2 IN TEXAS
February 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...