Home > Read Reviews > Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.6 of 5.

Frontier Utilities Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

147 Reviews and 81 Replies for Frontier Utilities


They Discriminate Based On Income and Class

(1.6 / 5)

  If you have bad credit or low income, you will most likely be conned into their prepaid plan. You can expect that your payments must be at least $20 each time you make a payment. Not $10. Not $5. Even if you pay twice a day. You must pay $20 each time. Expect to pay at least $120 a month per every 200 square feet. You will not be able to speak to a rep in the US, and it is extremely difficult to explain anything not within their basic understanding of English and prewritten script. They do not give prepaid customers bills and you are given 24 hours or less notice by text (if your phone gets the text) of a disconnection the next day. You must have enough prepaid by Friday morning to get you through the weekend to Monday. If not, your utilities will be disconnected Friday morning. They will not hold disconnections despite medical conditions either. Bottom line, the less your income the larger your utility bill.

Disatisfied and Disappointed in Houston
April 10th, 2019

Hello Disatisfied And Disappointed In Houston,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

the worst experience ever!!!

(1.6 / 5)

  This company might have been good in 2017 but unfortunately I signed up with them Aug 2018 and it has been a nightmare. It makes me wonder if these reviews are false. I could not get a bill from them, they turned off my electricity, when I tried to phone to get everything sorted they have never been able to correct the problem. They would phone me saying they will get it all straight/sorted/corrected and I could never get in touch with the person who phoned me. Finally I went with a new company for my own sanity's sake. They have now turned it over to a collection agency. I find all of this extremely hard to believe from someone who has excellent credit and just wanted to pay their bill. I think they're going through some tough times and I would NEVER recommend this company. It's fine to make a mistake but have the skills to make it right and let the customer talk to someone who can actually problem solve.

lmc
March 22nd, 2019

Hello Lmc,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for your poor experience with us. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Fell free to contact me at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BE CAREFUL!

(1.4 / 5)

  Make sur you call to continue your current rate. If you miss making the call you will be placed in a variable monthly pool and get burned just like I did this winter. Watch your bills and be aware!

George P.
March 21st, 2019

Hello George P.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problems with Frontier Utilities

(5 / 5)

  Access to Frontier was good, no hassles and application process straightforward

Bob
March 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for this company

(1.4 / 5)

  Got a surprise, my electric bill was going from $140-$170 a month. I renewed my contract with FRONTIER UTILITIES in August. I was shocked when my January electric bill was $438. This is for a two bedroom apartment. I figured some mistake had been made and paid it. This month the electric bill was for $383. I called FRONTIER UTILITIES yesterday. I had to get through two people before I got to a manager. She told me that my usage hadn't changed that much. This is where it got strange. She said that my rates changed in August when I renewed, from 6.3 cents/kilowatt hour to 10.5 cents/kilowatt hour. When I asked why the rates didn't change in August she told me they hadn't changed. I repeated what she had told me the rates were and she agreed that it was correct, but the rates hadn't changed. Now if I sell you a hamburger for $5 this week and $9 next week, and I tell you the price hasn't changed I'm either a idiot or I'm lying. I'm stuck in this contract until August, and you better believe I'll have a new electric provider lined up on July. Until then all I can do is ask you to STAY AWAY FROM FRONTIER UTILITIES.

Steve Williams
February 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deception, deception

(1.2 / 5)

  The paper bills are sent out with different delivery times. There is not enough time from the receipt of the bill to pay it. As a result, and I believe this is purposeful, the chances of being late are greater.
I did not receive my bill on two occasions. If you are unaware you are late, they immediately charge the late fee, but the very next day they charge a :DNP notice fee" of $20.00. This has become a significant burden from this company. During conversations with them about it, they are evasive, and take special glee. Of course, their profit soars when this happens, so they are deliberately indifferent to the problem. I think it is designed this way., forcing people to sign up for direct access to your account (but that has electronic privileges I wish to avoid).
They apologized 8 times, but refused to remove the $25.87.

When I get the next chance, and am not locked into their contract, my response will be "good bye"

Critic at large
February 21st, 2019

Hello Critic At Large,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for your poor experience with us. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Feel free to contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not EVER choose Frontier.

(1 / 5)

  Like most below, I fell for the bait and switch, too.

But wait, there's more! Once my usually-$75 bill tripled the first month after my contract renewed! Excpected, now that I look at the reviews, but that's not the end. After calling and screaming (literally screaming) for hours and days at anyone I could get on the phone at this company, I finally got in touch with a manager willing to actually do something. Nothing useful, unfortunately - My bill's lower now, but it's still more than double what I paid before (My bill this month was $291 dollars. For a 550 sq. ft, 1 bedroom apartment. Insane.)

Never expect to be able to make a payment arrangement with the company, either. I made one - They insisted I make half of the payment right then, and the other half in no more than 3 days. NEVER more than three days. Also; You can only get one payment arrangement per 6 months. If you break that payment arrangement, like, in my case, my billpay ended up not processing the payment until the day after, they block you from having ANY payment arrangement of any kind for 12 months after.

I also had $100 of disconnect and reconnect fees on my account this month. Despite the fact that I paid them by the date listed on my notice. When I called them, they offered to waive it. Which was great. Until they explained that they'd only be waiving half of it, and that it wouldn't be waived. I'd still have to pay the full $100+ dollars in disconnect/reconnect fees, they'll just add the extra $50 they expect me to pull out of nowhere to my next bill as a credit instead. That is INSANE. You cannot make a billing mistake and then force a customer to pay anyway. That's absolutely disgusting.

Frontier Utilities is a collective of filth, scum, and cockroaches in human flesh. Their employees have no empathy and no power. Their managers are about as understanding and filthy as your average garbage pail. Stay far, Far, FAR away from this company, unless you enjoy having your energy bill randomly higher every single billing cycle, and a company that sees absolutely no value whatsoever in retaining and helping their customers.

I've already reported them to the Texas PUC and the Better Business Bureau, as well as the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. I've also recently begun speaking with a lawyer regarding a pending class action lawsuit against their company for the exact practices I and many others have mentioned on this review board.

Matthew Leonard
February 11th, 2019

Hello Matthew Leonard,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli (or else) and I reviewed your account, I see that the issue was escalated and further investigated. Feel free to call our friendly customer service to answer any questions you may have PH#866-926-8192.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away From Frontier

(2.8 / 5)

  They hook you in with a decent rate, and boy, are you in for an unpleasant surprise when you get your bill. I was with them for 4 months, and got outrageous bills for a small apartment, that sits empty for 2 to3 weeks out of the month. They have a penalty for getting out of the contract but it is worth paying to avoid being swindle with a high bill every month.

MCM
February 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE MOST EXPENSIVE ELECTRIC BILLING COMPANY

(1.6 / 5)

  They will promise to help you save. Its the fees they charge that get you. When u sign the contract with them. They know u cant switch without paying that very high cancellation fee. So they start with $20 fees here $6 there before you know it. You are paying an average of $34-$96 in fees more every month on top of your electric usage

Baura
February 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service is Terrible

(1 / 5)

  For 11 months after we received the first bill, we asked for an address correction. EVERY MONTH. They NEVER CORRECTED THE ADDRESS, giving us problems receiving the bill, and problems paying the bill. Because there is an extra letter at the end of our address. ALL THEY HAD TO DO IS DELETE ONE LETTER. AFTER 11 MONTHS IT IS STILL THE SAME. WE ASKED EVERY MONTH FOR THEM TO CHANGE, WHICH EACH TIME THEY SAID THEY WOULD!!!!!!
We WERE then put in a position to call in our payments EVERY FREAKING MONTH. WHICH ENDED UP HAVING US SPEND 1 - 2 HOURS A MONTH JUST TO PAY THE BILL OVER THE PHONE BECAUSE THEIR SYSTEMS DO NOT ACCEPT THAT EXTRA FREAKING LETTER ASSOCIATED WITH OUR ADDRESS. THEY HAVE COSTED MY HUSBAND AND I ALMOST 24 HOURS JUST TO PAY OUR ELECTRIC BILL OVER THE LAST YEAR!!! So. When our contract was up? WE CANCELLED giving notice in November that we were cancelling on the appropriate contract date in December. WHICH THEY JACKED-UP THE PRICE, & DOUBLED OUR CONTRACT AMOUNT FOR THAT MONTH!
SO THEN, AFTER WE PAID THE LAST BILL, WHICH WAS DOUBLE THE USUAL AMOUNT PAYABLE IN DECEMBER, THE MONTH WE ALSO CANCELLED! THEN, TODAY, FEB. 4, 2019, WE GET ANOTHER BILL WITH A DISCONNECT AND RECONNECT FEE OF $50! WE ARE IN CONTRACT WITH ANOTHER ELECTRICITY PROVIDER? I'M POSTING THIS EVERYWHERE, FRONTIER IS A RIP OFF WITH HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

D2 IN TEXAS
February 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Burrows -Frontier Energy Ratings

(4.6 / 5)

  To date, our experiences with Frontier have been positive, no complaints. We have not had a reason to contact your "Customer Service" resources but have given them a high rating due to our positive experiences with Frontier.

Burrows -Frontier Energy Ratings
January 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sad to let you go!!!

(5 / 5)

  I had an amazing rate for a one year period. I have no complaints with your service and I wish I could keep you for another term. However, I will have to let you go because your new rates are not even close to my expiring contract. I recommend your service...

Joe
January 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

thought i signed up, but service never started

(3 / 5)

  I thought Ihad signed up but service has not yet started. I filled out the information on November 15th with Frontier with the 6-month at 6.99.

Jim
January 17th, 2019

Hello jwenger55@gmail.com
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you with your request. Feel free to contact me at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds February 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billed for 35 days, so I went over by 213 kWh and had to pay 15.9 cents per for the extra!

(1 / 5)

  Frontier tried a fast one on me on my 01/10/19 bill by billing me for 35 days. Since I use about 1900 kWh per month on a flat $145 for 2000 kWh, the extra 4 days resulted in a penalty rate of 15.9 cents on 213 kWh. Next month, I'll probably be read with 25 days for about 1600 kWh. Will I get an adjustment? HELL, NO. I'll pay the flat 2000 kWh for $145. This HAS to be ILLEGAL. I've already filed a BBB complaint and I'm going to the public service commission's (or whatever it's called in Texas) website to make a complaint there, too. Someone has to speak up or unwitting consumers will get screwed by Frontier from here to eternity.

Texconsin
January 16th, 2019

Hello ted@zeck.com,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you with your account. In case we are not able to reach you, please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds March 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too quick to disconnect

(2.4 / 5)

  Just started with Frontier. Had paid our previous bills. Got a bill due Dec. 26 - day after Christmas. Slipped through the proverbial cracks. Got a call from Frontier on Jan. 9 saying we need to pay or they'd disconnect. Fair. We paid that night.

Shockingly, they still disconnected us the next day. When I called, Francisco, a manager, confirmed that they had indeed received our money the night before. He had no good explanation.

To be fair, he did say they would waive the disconnect and reconnect fees as well as the late fees.

Just customer beware: Frontier is a very aggressive Company. Will shut you down if you're two weeks late.

Carl G
January 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My bill was higher this month than ever!!!!!

(2.4 / 5)

  I was shocked, Im a senior and on a budget, living in a small condo and respecting electricity, keep looking

Martha
January 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worste company

(2.4 / 5)

  My light got shut off , granted it was my mistake, but when I called after making payment the lady told me she would put me in for a connection it in the meantime she would look to get me a better rate. I have a baby that has severe allergies and is hooked up to a breathing machine overnight. When I told the supervisor, that there had to be some kind of emergency procedure they could follow she insisted that it was center point who would not be available to turn on my power until the next day but since I was going to be connected until morning I might as well get a good rate. Forget that my baby wont be able to breathe. I WILL NOT WAKE UP TO A DEAD BABY BECAUSE OF THE INCOMPETENT UNEMPATHETIC "SUPERVISOR" I will be staying in a hotel tonight looking for a better light company.. even if that means paying a higher rate.

Moon
December 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

i have plane not right at all

(2.2 / 5)

  I renewed my contract online this my account # 0541859 for the same plane I have before easy 12 I just have to pay$75 if I dont use over 1000 kw and month after I find out my plan was changed to different plan because The bill Change is not the same what I was paying the last contract I call all they said I did this change I said ok can I go back to my oldest plan they said no I talk to supervisor same thing they just dont care I dont use over 1000 kw Monthly I dont pay over $75 now my usage for this November was 694 kw and the charge was $109 this is scam am going to cancel my service I dont recommend this company safe your time they not even 24/7 service we you never charge me for the past year for center point charges and taxes for this new contract am having this is how you lie to people I got to pics show the different for this year and last year also I have the charges for last August 28/2018 right before my contact finish and ready to renew which I did online but look at the different

audi
November 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pasquale Sorco.

(1 / 5)

  It has been two months since I signed up for Frontier Service via Pa Energy Ratings and my service has not been switched to Frontier.
Pa Energy Ratings order # 425028. Frontier order # 0639520. What happened????

Pasquale Sorco
November 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill too high

(2.6 / 5)

  I have been with Frontier for about 3 months I live alone and never have on my air conditioner, because I try to keep my bills low because I am on a fixed income. I only have on 1 tv and a fan and 1 lamp until I go to bed. And my bill is over $100 I can't understand that. Then when I called I was told the people that lived there before me usage was around the same as mine. How can you compare it I am 1 person(myself) now compared to them 4 adults and 3 kids.

Very Upset!!
November 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...