Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.7 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.6 of 5.

Gexa Energy Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

252 Reviews and 68 Replies for Gexa Energy


Confusing, misleading; welcome to America

(3.2 / 5)

  Switched to Gexa, fact sheet says one price, we got billed another, so many fees, fact sheet said I believe 8.3 but we got billed 10.96, odd

3 people care: No Bod Ee
August 4th, 2019

Hello: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(2.4 / 5)

  I switched from Reliant to Gexa and my bill doubled. They advertized 6.5 cents and they are billing me 10.1 cents. Bait and switch. I am stuck with them for two years, but I will write a bad review every month.

Gene R
August 1st, 2019

Hi Gene: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and switch

(1 / 5)

 

Melissa
August 1st, 2019

Hi Melissa: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never again

(1 / 5)

  I recently changed to Gexa Energy primarily so I could get a 24 month plan. I did not know I would be penalized $85 for going over 2,000 kHw by looking at the plan available on the site. I am sure it was in very small print. I have been a buyer of electricity for the last 40 years. My worst experience ever. I have paid two months of bills that are 100% over last year. Even with the penalty, the bills should have not been so high. I have brand new appliances so they are not part of the problem. I am not getting much help in finding out if an error occurred on Gexa's part. I have a 2500 square foot home. The bill for May was $480 and the bill for June was $612.

Never again
August 1st, 2019

Hello: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa average billing is not customer friendly

(2.2 / 5)

  My plan with Gexa started and temperatures quickly got hot. They raised my average billing to $350 and kept it that way for a year, accumulating a surplus of $1,000 for themselves. Other companies do a rolling average. I'm 67 yrs old and have had average billing my entire life. Never had this happen before.

Laure
July 30th, 2019

Hi Laure: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

12 guaranteed!!

(2.8 / 5)

  I could have been sure I was quoted a better price than what I am being charged!! The price is about 2 cents higher than what I was quoted!!

Garry Mcmichael
July 26th, 2019

Hi Garry: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(5 / 5)

  They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend

Allison ayala
July 24th, 2019

Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fantastic for a new customer, but only if you plan to change providers afterwards

(3 / 5)

  Renewal rates are extremely high compared to new customer rates and renewal rates with other companies. Not even worth signing up unless you're planning on living somewhere through one plan contract only.

Nathan B.
July 22nd, 2019

Hello, Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Four Happy years and then slammed

(1 / 5)

  The first four years were great. My bill was constant and predictable. My usage remained the same. My usual June bill was $280 avg then shocker: no warning and no notice my June bill was $446.I called an called, four calls and finally someone told me my rate plan had changed. But could not tell me why? I did not change anything. So now my July bill is in and its huge as well $464. Apparently I am paying 18.9 a kWh when I was at 8.4 cents a kwh. Very sneaky it slide up and Wham! I am slammed with this. So I am trying to negotiate a better plan with them. I can not leave without paying a $295 penalty and I am not convinced the other electric companies are any better. So I am stuck with Gexa and we shall see how it shakes out. I usually dont write reviews but I wanted to let buyers beware: these electric companies suck us in and all is well and the blindside us with a devastating bill and little recourse

Joey Roth
July 18th, 2019

Hi Joey, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.

Gexa Energy Responds July 19th, 2019

Very prompt response from Gexa. They called and found me a better plan and initiated it immediately. I am very encouraged but their action and am very happy with my new plan. Thank you.

Joey Roth Replies July 19th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing rates

(2 / 5)

  First time paying mor than 370.00 on electricity!!!Looking for something less expensive.

Angelica
July 9th, 2019

Hi Angelica, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. During warmer months many factors can affect electricity usage, including increased air conditioning use. We would like to take this opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss the current plan you are on and determine if its the right one for you based on your current electricity usage needs. Can you please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you? We truly value your business and look forward to connecting with you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review

(4 / 5)

  Everything has been a good experience

J. Powers
July 8th, 2019

Hi J, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Prices

(3.8 / 5)

  After reviewing so many providers I settled with Gexa based on the average price per kwh. It turns out Gexa was the only one I reviewed that did not include the additional fees into their average cost therefore causing my first bill to be $150 more than what I paid the previous month with my old provider. I called Gexa and they moved me to a new plan that fit my budget better but I still owed that large bill and had I known this at the start I would not have picked Gexa as my provider. Now I'm stuck for a year.

Be Cautious of the Displayed Rates!
July 1st, 2019

Hi, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Energy

(4.6 / 5)

  I was a bit surprised by the Oncor charges that increase the avg kilowatt charges.
I would like to see more savings for seniors who live on a fixed income.
Other than that, I'm happy with my service.

Bledsoe
June 27th, 2019

Hi Bledsoe. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HIdden Billing Late Payment Notices

(2.6 / 5)

  I asked for a service transference and I was told I would be billed all at once from the old location. I got a bill for the old location and payed it on time. However there was another bill no one told me about, it did not show on the portal as the account location had been already closed. The transference was done in May, More than a month later I get a late payment notice. This is not right. Their customer service people should told me about the last cycle billing.

Garcia
June 24th, 2019

Hi Garcia, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overall Horrible

(1 / 5)

  Avoid at all costs. Customer service reps lie to you and change their story.

Inconsistent with unhelpful employees
June 10th, 2019

We would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to directly. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of this RIPOFF

(1.6 / 5)

  Gexa is nothing short of a money-hungry ripoff! How a bill of $27 turns into $119 because of fees is nothing short of a scam. I will light 10 million candles before I ever sign with these cons again.
Save your money and your sanity...skip Gexa.

CandaceB
June 7th, 2019

Hi Candace: All Gexa Energy plans come with an Electricity Facts Label (EFL) that we recommend all customers carefully read as it helps to better understand exactly what you're getting with each of our plans. If you have any questions or would like to speak with our Customer Care team directly, please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should send email when bill is ready

(4.4 / 5)

  This is the only company that does not send an email letting you know your bill is ready to view.

Invoice email
June 6th, 2019

Hi there: When you enroll in paperless billing you will receive email notifications when your bill is ready. To sign up or confirm if you have already signed up for paperless billing, please login to your account on MyGexa via this link: mygexa.gexaenergy.com/login.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

cannot reccommend.

(1.8 / 5)

  last month, at about 7AM, our power went out. . . or so we thought. Oncor said power was disconnected by request of provider. took 6 calls to get a live person (after system repeatedly demanded I pay a deposit before I could make a payment and get power restored. although I'd paid the bill by phone (e-check), the money was never withdrawn. had a confirmation number & everything. according to Gexa rep, they never withdrew the money from our account. not our error. took 4 hours to get power back on. I missed my entire day & even cried, second guessing & doubting myself because I KNEW I'd paid them. we've NEVER been disconnected before this. they did NOTHING to try and make things right. agent did say that "it happens sometimes". it shouldn't happen EVER! bye-bye Gexa.

2 nuts & a squirrel
May 30th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We know that losing power in your home is a stressful situation, and we apologize for this inconvenience. If youd like to further discuss, please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Well reach out to you directly.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You Only Get One Chance to Make a Good First Impression

(1.8 / 5)

  I just got of a 45 minute hold on the telephone trying to get my customer number from a cSA at Gexa. When given the option to leave a call back number, the "MOOD" music came back on and would not take all of the digits thus recycling me back to more "mood" messages and music. If this is an example of 1) Gexa's customer service or 2) their Ineptness at software design, the heaven help us customers. Heck, a high schooler can produce better interactive software than I experienced at Gexa!!

Nick
May 22nd, 2019

Hi Nick: We want to apologize for the frustration this has caused you. Did you know you dont even have to pick up the phone? With your online MyGexa account there are several self-service options you can access including: View your Bill, View Usage History, Set Up Auto Bill Pay, Request Pay Extensions, Renew Contracts and Manage your Profile information. Another option to get your question answered is by submitting an email request to Gexa Energys Customer Care team through your MyGexa account. One of our team members will respond to the email within 24 72 business hours. We apologize again for the inconvenience. But now you are aware of how you can manage your account anytime, anyplace, and on any device.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should-ve called to speak to a representative before contracting

(4.2 / 5)

  I changed to Gexa when my permanent rate company (Frontier Utilities) had expired their 1 year promotion contract, which was of $74 dollars when using from 1000 to 2000 kWh, so I paid $74 dollars almost all 12 months. When that ended I searched for something similar online and found Gexa, the description seemed to offer the same, ultimately it didn't

Elizabeth G
May 22nd, 2019

Hi Elizabeth, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...