Home > Read Reviews > Gexa Energy

Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.5 of 5.

Gexa Energy Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

223 Reviews and 43 Replies for Gexa Energy


Customer service

(1 / 5)

  Wors costumer service ever , not happy and never recommended everyone

Fatih celik
April 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Gets Seniors

(1.4 / 5)

  On 'Power To Choose' almost three years ago, I seemed to get the best deal with Gexa Energy. However, being in my late 70's, with no younger relatives to 'have my back', the 'good' part went away after a year and the 'got-ya' fine print has robbed me of far too much for far too long. As soon as I get them paid 'in full', I am changing because I read on here that I am "in an area where I can choose my elec. provider by law since 1999". Their 'help' number is anything but 'helpful'. I feel sorry for their employees who have to listen

James Boone
April 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was moved over from Penny wise Now Im always being charged a late fees

(1 / 5)

  moved over from Penny wise Now I'm always being charged a late fees?
No one can tell me why, Im paying the bills and still get charged late fees.

Stephen Mullett
April 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  I cant even get them to send me a bill....I finally got through to customer service and they said they were busy....I dont pay unless I see a bill

Pete
April 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

my review

(2.8 / 5)

  at first i thought it was a great rate.first bill reasonable and affordable.second bill way too high.

mesha Williams
March 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy Customer

(5 / 5)

  Good rates.

Jennifer
March 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company

(4.2 / 5)

  I have had no issue with my Bill. I was being billed an additional 50 to 70 from AEP North (is what my bill says) for distribution charges. So the credit if 75$ of using over 1000 kilowatts cancelled it self out.

Ashley
March 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

awsome

(5 / 5)

  it was great service around the plans and price were great

martinez
March 14th, 2019

Hi Martinez, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds March 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Screwed me at the end

(2.6 / 5)

  I always recommended and sent many people to them. I moved after 5 years with them, I called weeks in advance. They didn't offer service in my area. I requested a total bill and paid a week after moving out giving time to get all my electricity together. After a few months, I was just playing around I wanted to see if maybe they were branching out because I liked them so much. They put more money didn't tell me stating they sent me the bill. I MOVED... they knew this. I was so upset. I worked so hard on my credit. they didn't show any concern. the bill was posted a few months after the last one I paid even, not even directly the next month. what kind of shady crap is that. So upset and disappointed. Never late, never a bad customer.

Stabbed at the end.
March 13th, 2019

Hi there, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Customer Care team.

Gexa Energy Responds March 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good experience

(5 / 5)

  Very helpful when I needed assistance. Affordable.

A. Blackmon
March 12th, 2019

Hi A. Blackmon, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds March 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NOT WHAT THEY ADVERTISE

(1 / 5)

  Very disappointed, First week of switching to Gexa I received my first bill 141.32 for just 8 days of service, called them and told Me, that because I didn't spent 1000 kwh, I wasn't expecting a bill from them, that soon.
So, now I have my second bill and charges are 581.20 called them and ask why? They told me, that because I spent more than 2000 kwh.
Advertise 7c per kilowatt fixed rate, but don't specify other charges, like TDU charges and that you have to spend certain kilowatts to get those 7c per kwh, when is supposed to be a fixed rate, you have to spend 1000 kwh to 2000 kwh, to really get the 7c if you get 1 less or 2 more of that, you will be charged, for whatever they want
you really have to read the contract and very well.

GEXA DON'T GIVE WHAT THEY ADVERTISE
February 28th, 2019

Hi there: All Gexa Energy plans come with an Electricity Facts Label (EFL) that we recommend all customers carefully read as it helps to better understand exactly what you're getting with each of our plans. If you have any questions or would like to speak with our Customer Care team directly, please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds March 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT PURCHASE!

(1.8 / 5)

  Customer service is awful. They cut off my power without notice when I had NO IDEA I was late on my payment. Then when I told them my frustration and expressed I would not be using them again they replied, "Okay, well thank you for using GEXA." They do not give a s**t about their customers just their money.

Wes_Hou
February 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unauthorized change of accounts

(1.4 / 5)

  Awful, inexcusable lack of customer service with some of the most unintelligent agents I've ever had to deal with. I signed on with Gexa Energy in October 2018. During the month of November, I received an email that informed me my contract with Gexa was cancelled. Apparently, they had opened two accounts, one for my current address, and one for an address of a different apartment. I had called them to fix this issue 3 separate times, and the issue was never fixed. This even affected my credit score, as they claimed I was past due on bills I never should of had to pay in the first place. Then when it comes time to cancel my plan, they claim I've only been using this plan for 1 month because the idiots opened up a new account for the same wrong address.

Katie Eyre
February 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa 8 month plan

(3 / 5)

  The first full month of January I'm paying $151 for 1546 kw hours. I'm afraid to see what it will be like when it gets hot again! I'm glad I only chose the 8 month plan. I won't be renewing with Gexa.
$81.63 for power usage.
$69.13 for delivery charges.

Mike
January 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

1 hour wait times and no bills mailed

(1.6 / 5)

  I started with gexa in October and it is now January 6th. I still have not received a bill from them with my account number (which is required to not sit on hold to pay). I was told last month I would for sure get a bill in the mail in December (which I didnt). Every time I go to pay it is a hold time of an hour. I wont be renewing.

Annoying
January 9th, 2019

Hi there, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lousy Renewal Rates :-(

(1.6 / 5)

  Four years of Gexa service. Hard to understand all the different rates they offer upon renewing your contract. And now *every* rate available is on average $25 to $30 higher than before, even though our current plan is still available to new customers and at least three competing electric providers out there are lower. Moral of the story: Gexa would rather lose your business than not raise your rates, or even keep your rates the same. SO disappointing.

Roy F.
January 4th, 2019

Hi Roy, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback. Please email with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great first experience - solid bargain

(4.6 / 5)

  Ordered new service through Texas Electricity rating. The plan I purchased was not offered directly by Gexa. The switch went smoothly and I have been saving almost 50 to 60 percent over my prior plan. I havent had to interact with customer service, so my rating is ok for now.

Eric
December 29th, 2018

Hi Eric, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity prices and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammed twice by Gexa

(1.2 / 5)

  I had Gexa at my first apartment and it went well. I then requested a change of address because I was moving. First, my new plan was a complete scam. I am now paying 40 cents per kwh which is about 4X the going rate. Second, they kept my previous plan going for 3 months and would not refund. When I called, they told me I did not technically cancel the old apartment, I only requested new service because I was moving out. They have refused to provide a refund.

Adam
December 26th, 2018

Hi Adam, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience with GEXA

(2.2 / 5)

  I signed up for a low kilowatt rate and they placed me in a month to month plan. Took several months to get it resolved. The new rate is higher then what I signed up for. I get a 100 credit when I stay below 1500 kilowatts each month. I've noticed GEXA is not consistent in the number of days each month the take a reading from my meter. For example this months cycle is 33 days. Which makes it more difficult to stay under 1500 for the month. Below is the response when I inquired about a 33 day cycle.

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for contacting Gexa Energy. In response to your inquiry, unfortunately, we are unable to determine the last day of each billing cycle. Oncor energy meter reads can range between 28-33 days each billing period. We apologize for the inconvenience.

If you have any additional questions, please call Gexa Energy Customer Care at 713-961-9399, or call us toll-free at 1-866-961-9399, Monday - Friday from 7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., and Saturday from 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m., and allow one of our customer care representatives to assist you. Thank you for being a Gexa Energy customer. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Gexa Energy Customer Care

Joe Reyes
December 18th, 2018

Hi Joe, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019

I understand Oncor can can read meters from 28 to 33 days. The inconsistency is ridiculous. However, GEXA still didnt address the issue that you did not sign me up for the correct plan in the first place and then when you changed it from month to month, they gave me a higher rate then what I renewed for. If you want to make good, when I have to renew, give me a good rate, the correct rate.

Joe Reyes Replies January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

How do they rate 4.9 out 5 stars when their highest category rating is 2.7 stars????

(1 / 5)

  Long story short....been a Gexa customer for a few years and was very satisfied. Always have had a Fixed Rate contract...when renewal came up they offered me another Fixed rate contract @ 10.4/kWh for average 2000kWh per month usage. Started receiving bills that were more than DOUBLE previous contract. After waiting on hold for 30 minutes I wasted more time talking to Iram who couldn't explain the mathematics to me either. How does a fixed rate of 10.4/kWh add up to an invoiced amount of over 16/kWh on average?

They invoiced me one rate for the first 1000kWh, another rate for the next 1000kWh, and then a 3rd rate for any kWh hours above that PLUS they billed me separately for the TDU charges when the contract clearly states that price includes Energy plus Usage Credit plus TDU delivery charges

Bottom line.....the reason your hold times are 30 minutes plus is because so many people are calling to complain about the fraud. They will do NOTHING to make it right with you.

Beware of this company.......they aren't interested in keeping you as a customer......too many better options out there.

I swallowed the early termination fee and fired them......will easily make it up on the first 2 utility bills from a reputable company.

David
December 18th, 2018

Hi David, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...