Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.5 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.4 of 5.

Gexa Energy Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

257 Reviews and 73 Replies for Gexa Energy


Horrible

(2 / 5)

  I have been with gexa for years and recently had a horrible experience. Was informed I was locked in at 7.8c per kWh only to find out it was 13.71c per kwh. I have been waiting on hold for over an hour to speak with someone. The operator gives you the option to press 1 so an available rep can call you back but it NEVER works so you are stuck waiting on the phone still. Gexa was so good for years but highly disappointed. I got an email saying I may be charged $295 to cancel but was told my fee would be waved if i chose to terminate by a representative a few days back. We shall see when someone FINALLY answers.

C
September 28th, 2019

Hello, We are experiencing higher than normal call volume during this time and want to apologize for the frustration this has caused you. Did you know you dont even have to pick up the phone? With your online MyGexa account there are several self-service options you can access including: View your Bill, View Usage History, Set Up Auto Bill Pay, Request Pay Extensions, Renew Contracts and Manage your Profile information. Another option to get your question answered is by submitting an email request to Gexa Energys Customer Care team through your MyGexa account. One of our team members will respond to the email within 24 72 business hours. We apologize again for the inconvenience. But now you are aware of how you can manage your account anytime, anyplace, and on any device.

Gexa Energy Responds October 1st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service doesn't appear to exist

(2 / 5)

  I have yet to hear from an agent from Gexa its been over an hour+ on the phone, trying to cancel my plan because I am moving cities and therefore out of service area. You can only cancel your plan through customer service which doesn't appear to exist right now. Having worked in customer service, I am appalled. Having dealt with all the other shenanigans that involve moving 200+ mi away, I didn't think this would be the most aggravating process. I've been a customer for almost 2 years--no issues. As soon as I actually need to talk to someone (based on their policy of being UNABLE to cancel service online) they're not there to pick up the phone. I've spoken with an agent thats not this broker company and they've said they keep getting complaints that no one's been picking up the phone since yesterday (Monday).

beemo
September 24th, 2019

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 1st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

beware..HIDDEN FEES

(1.8 / 5)

  I ve been with them over a year. My plan said 5.2 cents per Kw ,and when asked if delivery charges are included I was told several times - yes.Well - NO. In delivery fees I paid almost as much as energy charges. I have months where I spend 700kw and my bill is $150 and months where i spent 1300Kw and my bill is $130. Decided to switch to a new plan - a lot of plans under 9c per Kw and when read carefully ( they wont go into much details about that with you on the phone) but this would be the energy charge without delivery fee if you spend over 1000Kw , AFTER you get $95 credit for spending over 1000Kw, If you spend under 1000 you will be charged 17cents + per Kw, plus delivery charges....they know how to talk to you to trick you into signing a contract, but once you see your bills you start questioning what is going on....

George
September 20th, 2019

Hi Geroge: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds October 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst experience

(1.4 / 5)

  I live in a small one bedroom apartment, I do not run my ac lower than 75, turn all my lights off, and am really only home from around 7pm-5am. My electricity bill is usually $400. Yes, four HUNDRED dollars for my tiny one bedroom where I live by myself.

Lily
September 20th, 2019

Hi Lily, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GEXA the worst electric company thieves!!!!

(1 / 5)

  My nightmare started with Gexa from the very beginning when they entered the wrong date to switch my service. First of all good luck getting anyone on the phone, wont happen, be very very careful to how they describe each plan because theyre very tricky and deceptive, everything they promised went straight down the toilet after receiving my bill. They recommended one of their plans for me after they reviewed several past months of my service history and quoted approximate monthly bill to be much lower than the $225.00 bill from my , at that time, current provider Ambit energy, which im back with but to my utter shock these freakin thieves with their sneaky snakey moves billed me $400!!! I live alone in a 1000 sq ft duplex and 2 months prior had a brand new a/c heater system professionally installed to further guarantee a low electric bill and these crooks found a slick way to rip me off!!! I dont care how tempting thier plans and advertisements look its all a con to make them rich and you poor. This is the first time Ive ever wrote a bad review about any company before but this had to be told. I also filed a formal complaint with Austin electricity commission.

Gexa jacks you!
September 18th, 2019

Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Tactics

(1.6 / 5)

  DO NOT USE GEXA. They are misleading in their tactics and quote you prices that don't include the utility fee. Their plans have hidden clauses that you don't know about until you get your bill. I was quoted .6 cents KW and they are charging me 14cents KW. YOU CANNOT GET THEM ON THE PHONE!! Super bad services.

GEXA=MISTAKE
September 17th, 2019

Hi: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds October 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing, misleading; welcome to America

(3.2 / 5)

  Switched to Gexa, fact sheet says one price, we got billed another, so many fees, fact sheet said I believe 8.3 but we got billed 10.96, odd

3 people care: No Bod Ee
August 4th, 2019

Hello: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(2.4 / 5)

  I switched from Reliant to Gexa and my bill doubled. They advertized 6.5 cents and they are billing me 10.1 cents. Bait and switch. I am stuck with them for two years, but I will write a bad review every month.

Gene R
August 1st, 2019

Hi Gene: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and switch

(1 / 5)

 

Melissa
August 1st, 2019

Hi Melissa: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never again

(1 / 5)

  I recently changed to Gexa Energy primarily so I could get a 24 month plan. I did not know I would be penalized $85 for going over 2,000 kHw by looking at the plan available on the site. I am sure it was in very small print. I have been a buyer of electricity for the last 40 years. My worst experience ever. I have paid two months of bills that are 100% over last year. Even with the penalty, the bills should have not been so high. I have brand new appliances so they are not part of the problem. I am not getting much help in finding out if an error occurred on Gexa's part. I have a 2500 square foot home. The bill for May was $480 and the bill for June was $612.

Never again
August 1st, 2019

Hello: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

12 guaranteed!!

(2.8 / 5)

  I could have been sure I was quoted a better price than what I am being charged!! The price is about 2 cents higher than what I was quoted!!

Garry Mcmichael
July 26th, 2019

Hi Garry: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(5 / 5)

  They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend

Allison ayala
July 24th, 2019

Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fantastic for a new customer, but only if you plan to change providers afterwards

(3 / 5)

  Renewal rates are extremely high compared to new customer rates and renewal rates with other companies. Not even worth signing up unless you're planning on living somewhere through one plan contract only.

Nathan B.
July 22nd, 2019

Hello, Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Four Happy years and then slammed

(1 / 5)

  The first four years were great. My bill was constant and predictable. My usage remained the same. My usual June bill was $280 avg then shocker: no warning and no notice my June bill was $446.I called an called, four calls and finally someone told me my rate plan had changed. But could not tell me why? I did not change anything. So now my July bill is in and its huge as well $464. Apparently I am paying 18.9 a kWh when I was at 8.4 cents a kwh. Very sneaky it slide up and Wham! I am slammed with this. So I am trying to negotiate a better plan with them. I can not leave without paying a $295 penalty and I am not convinced the other electric companies are any better. So I am stuck with Gexa and we shall see how it shakes out. I usually dont write reviews but I wanted to let buyers beware: these electric companies suck us in and all is well and the blindside us with a devastating bill and little recourse

Joey Roth
July 18th, 2019

Hi Joey, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.

Gexa Energy Responds July 19th, 2019

Very prompt response from Gexa. They called and found me a better plan and initiated it immediately. I am very encouraged but their action and am very happy with my new plan. Thank you.

Joey Roth Replies July 19th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing rates

(2 / 5)

  First time paying mor than 370.00 on electricity!!!Looking for something less expensive.

Angelica
July 9th, 2019

Hi Angelica, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. During warmer months many factors can affect electricity usage, including increased air conditioning use. We would like to take this opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss the current plan you are on and determine if its the right one for you based on your current electricity usage needs. Can you please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you? We truly value your business and look forward to connecting with you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review

(4 / 5)

  Everything has been a good experience

J. Powers
July 8th, 2019

Hi J, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Prices

(3.8 / 5)

  After reviewing so many providers I settled with Gexa based on the average price per kwh. It turns out Gexa was the only one I reviewed that did not include the additional fees into their average cost therefore causing my first bill to be $150 more than what I paid the previous month with my old provider. I called Gexa and they moved me to a new plan that fit my budget better but I still owed that large bill and had I known this at the start I would not have picked Gexa as my provider. Now I'm stuck for a year.

Be Cautious of the Displayed Rates!
July 1st, 2019

Hi, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Energy

(4.6 / 5)

  I was a bit surprised by the Oncor charges that increase the avg kilowatt charges.
I would like to see more savings for seniors who live on a fixed income.
Other than that, I'm happy with my service.

Bledsoe
June 27th, 2019

Hi Bledsoe. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HIdden Billing Late Payment Notices

(2.6 / 5)

  I asked for a service transference and I was told I would be billed all at once from the old location. I got a bill for the old location and payed it on time. However there was another bill no one told me about, it did not show on the portal as the account location had been already closed. The transference was done in May, More than a month later I get a late payment notice. This is not right. Their customer service people should told me about the last cycle billing.

Garcia
June 24th, 2019

Hi Garcia, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overall Horrible

(1 / 5)

  Avoid at all costs. Customer service reps lie to you and change their story.

Inconsistent with unhelpful employees
June 10th, 2019

We would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to directly. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...