Home > Read Reviews > Gexa Energy

Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.8 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.8 of 5.

Gexa Energy Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

238 Reviews and 54 Replies for Gexa Energy


Overall Horrible

(1 / 5)

  Avoid at all costs. Customer service reps lie to you and change their story.

Inconsistent with unhelpful employees
June 10th, 2019

We would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to directly. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of this RIPOFF

(1.6 / 5)

  Gexa is nothing short of a money-hungry ripoff! How a bill of $27 turns into $119 because of fees is nothing short of a scam. I will light 10 million candles before I ever sign with these cons again.
Save your money and your sanity...skip Gexa.

CandaceB
June 7th, 2019

Hi Candace: All Gexa Energy plans come with an Electricity Facts Label (EFL) that we recommend all customers carefully read as it helps to better understand exactly what you're getting with each of our plans. If you have any questions or would like to speak with our Customer Care team directly, please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should send email when bill is ready

(4.4 / 5)

  This is the only company that does not send an email letting you know your bill is ready to view.

Invoice email
June 6th, 2019

Hi there: When you enroll in paperless billing you will receive email notifications when your bill is ready. To sign up or confirm if you have already signed up for paperless billing, please login to your account on MyGexa via this link: mygexa.gexaenergy.com/login.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

cannot reccommend.

(1.8 / 5)

  last month, at about 7AM, our power went out. . . or so we thought. Oncor said power was disconnected by request of provider. took 6 calls to get a live person (after system repeatedly demanded I pay a deposit before I could make a payment and get power restored. although I'd paid the bill by phone (e-check), the money was never withdrawn. had a confirmation number & everything. according to Gexa rep, they never withdrew the money from our account. not our error. took 4 hours to get power back on. I missed my entire day & even cried, second guessing & doubting myself because I KNEW I'd paid them. we've NEVER been disconnected before this. they did NOTHING to try and make things right. agent did say that "it happens sometimes". it shouldn't happen EVER! bye-bye Gexa.

2 nuts & a squirrel
May 30th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We know that losing power in your home is a stressful situation, and we apologize for this inconvenience. If youd like to further discuss, please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Well reach out to you directly.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You Only Get One Chance to Make a Good First Impression

(1.8 / 5)

  I just got of a 45 minute hold on the telephone trying to get my customer number from a cSA at Gexa. When given the option to leave a call back number, the "MOOD" music came back on and would not take all of the digits thus recycling me back to more "mood" messages and music. If this is an example of 1) Gexa's customer service or 2) their Ineptness at software design, the heaven help us customers. Heck, a high schooler can produce better interactive software than I experienced at Gexa!!

Nick
May 22nd, 2019

Hi Nick: We want to apologize for the frustration this has caused you. Did you know you dont even have to pick up the phone? With your online MyGexa account there are several self-service options you can access including: View your Bill, View Usage History, Set Up Auto Bill Pay, Request Pay Extensions, Renew Contracts and Manage your Profile information. Another option to get your question answered is by submitting an email request to Gexa Energys Customer Care team through your MyGexa account. One of our team members will respond to the email within 24 72 business hours. We apologize again for the inconvenience. But now you are aware of how you can manage your account anytime, anyplace, and on any device.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should-ve called to speak to a representative before contracting

(4.2 / 5)

  I changed to Gexa when my permanent rate company (Frontier Utilities) had expired their 1 year promotion contract, which was of $74 dollars when using from 1000 to 2000 kWh, so I paid $74 dollars almost all 12 months. When that ended I searched for something similar online and found Gexa, the description seemed to offer the same, ultimately it didn't

Elizabeth G
May 22nd, 2019

Hi Elizabeth, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Electric Plan

(5 / 5)

  The Electric Plan gave us the best pricing that we have ever had.

CSG
May 21st, 2019

Hi CSG, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Edithernandez

(1.2 / 5)

  Pesimo como la mayoria empiezan bien y despues ya tienes un bill del doble

Edithernandez
May 15th, 2019

Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE THEM!

(1 / 5)

  My fiance and I have struggled with this company since day one when they "lost" our deposit. Then it took them 3 weeks to turn on our electric. We made a payment arrangement to have our bill paid a few days after our due date and decided to pay it 2 days before our scheduled arrangement. Today, I noticed that Gexa pulled their payment not once but twice out of our account. When my fiance spoke with a customer service representative the exact words were, "You should have canceled your payment arrangement after you made your payment, this is your fault not ours." Well, like most businesses when you make your payment in advance in automatically cancels the payment arrangement, right? Not according to Gexa, because our payment that we made 2 days prior didn't even credit our account. Now we have to wait up to 10 business days to recieve our money back. This company is beyond unprofessional and they DO NOT care about YOU or your FAMILY! When our electric took 3 weeks to get turned on in the middle of July we explained to them we had kids,that they couldn't sit in a hot house for that long. They told us to sleep in our vehicle with the air on. Please do not use this company they will give you the go around and constantly try and get more money out of you.

Unhappy customer 77963
May 9th, 2019

We would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you directly. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No electricity for two days now

(2.2 / 5)

  After new enrollment and deposit paid I was told electricity would be on that day or at the latest the next day. Next day no electricity and after waiting 1hr+ on the phone was told that I needed documents sent in.(lease agreement) I was not made aware of this prior to me calling in any type of way. Then was told it may take 3-5 days to get documents verified.

Tlue
May 7th, 2019

Hi Tlue, thanks for bringing this to our attention. One of our Customer Care team supervisors will review the call. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience

(5 / 5)

  I used Gexa over the years and found them to be responsive and attentive to our needs.

Greg
May 7th, 2019

Hi Greg, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer Beware

(1 / 5)

  Gexa Energy is a lousy good for nothing company. Try calling them about service, you will be waiting for an agent while your cell phone battery runs out! I had to get a new credit card issued due to a fraudulent charge and I was told the new card would update all my autopays. Well I didnt and my bill got behind and I go no warning and they cut off my power! Since I couldnt get an agent I had to go on my iPad and set autopay correctly. Now that the payment accepted I will have to wait until the following day to restore power! They also misled me when selling this plan. I thought I was getting a cheap rate and the started tacking on this monthly charge of $50 that is not even usuage!!!! Stay away from this fraud company!! You have been warned.

Alan
May 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

EXTREMELY SHADY! AVOID THIS COMPANY!!!!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I closed my Gexa account in October 2018 because the plan was not clear; if I used between 500-1000 kWh I was charged per kWh, but if I went even 1 kWh over 1000 I was charged a flat rate of $185 and this was NOT made clear when I signed up for the service and was so desperate to get out from under this company that I was willing to pay the cancellation fee of $150. The final bill with cancellation fee came to $187.
I called to set up a payment arrangement and they agreed to $20/month, but mostly have been paying more. I have made all of my payments on time, and when I went online yesterday to make the payment that was due April 26th, the balance showed $0 due and I was unable to make my payment. I received a call this morning from a collection agency stating that my account was sent to collections on the 24th...2 days prior to my most recent payment due date. I have been working extremely hard to get my credit score up and set up the arrangement for this purpose, and they completely ignored it! After hanging up with the collection agency I called Gexa to get to the bottom of it but they refused to speak with me, claiming I did not have an accout with them at allwhich does not make sense to me because I am still able to logon to the customer portal.
Do yourself a favor and AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!!! The plan terms are not made clear when you sign up, and they have no regard for someone attempting to pay down an outstanding bill, every customer service reps I have spoken to has been extremely rude and talked down to me. I will NEVER recommend Gexa and will continue to tell everyone I know to stay away!

JenC
April 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexas So Far So Good

(5 / 5)

  Easy set up. Great rate. Helped me on a Sat.
Had a bad experience with Tri-Eagle Energy. Do NOT recommend them or their Budget Billing.

Tami Lynn Carlson
April 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Made me pay $40 because they didn't process cancellation before a meter reading

(1.2 / 5)

  Was charged $40 for 15 KWH because they charged me for 2 days in a new billing cycle after I'd asked for my service to be transferred to another provider

Reasonable Human
April 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service

(1 / 5)

  Wors costumer service ever , not happy and never recommended everyone

Fatih celik
April 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Gets Seniors

(1.4 / 5)

  On 'Power To Choose' almost three years ago, I seemed to get the best deal with Gexa Energy. However, being in my late 70's, with no younger relatives to 'have my back', the 'good' part went away after a year and the 'got-ya' fine print has robbed me of far too much for far too long. As soon as I get them paid 'in full', I am changing because I read on here that I am "in an area where I can choose my elec. provider by law since 1999". Their 'help' number is anything but 'helpful'. I feel sorry for their employees who have to listen

James Boone
April 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was moved over from Penny wise Now Im always being charged a late fees

(1 / 5)

  moved over from Penny wise Now I'm always being charged a late fees?
No one can tell me why, Im paying the bills and still get charged late fees.

Stephen Mullett
April 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  I cant even get them to send me a bill....I finally got through to customer service and they said they were busy....I dont pay unless I see a bill

Pete
April 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

my review

(2.8 / 5)

  at first i thought it was a great rate.first bill reasonable and affordable.second bill way too high.

mesha Williams
March 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...