Liberty Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Liberty Power are their customer service, rated at 1.7 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.5 of 5.

Liberty Power Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

31 Reviews and Replies for Liberty Power


RIP OFF

(1 / 5)

  They come to your door with a so called "lower rate". My bill has double than that I was paying for with the previous company. Nothing has changed as far as utility usage in my home so why the bill so high. They have other fees that they dont discuss with you. Just save yourself the headache and do not agree to service. I am contacting previous utility company now to switch back. My bill is $474 the highest it has ever been. EVER!! Just energy is wayyyyy cheaper and im going back to them Id rather pay $230 anyday. Dont believe the scammers at your door!! Its not worth it!!.Then the rep over the phone was just an asshole when i inquired about why my bill was what it was. Im so pissed off im contacting the city about this along with bill comparison from other company. I will be posting for my neighbors warning them of the reps. I have already sent an email to the front office about them soliciting services and etc along with bill comparison.

DO NOT SIGN UP FOR SERVICE
January 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM

(1.4 / 5)

  I received a call a week before Christmas promising 2 $100.00 gift cards (I have 2 meters) then promised 2 $50.00 gift cards for the next year if I went with LP. I would receive paperwork in the mail to sign an agreement or have 72 hours to cancel. I received paperwork after about 6 days but nothing to sign and return.During this time I received 2 emails stating my current provider was cancelling me. I got on the phone to LP stating the issue twice. The second time I was told it would have to be turned over to a review board. I called a third time and talked to a supervisor who told me I made a verbal agreement over the phone. This supposed Cheryl Smith (very thick foreign accent) told me I needed to sign the paperwork, send it back for agreement or call within 72 hours to cancel. When I did receive the paperwork it stated I would receive a $20.00 rewards card after 3 months, a $30.00 card after 1 year and a $50.00 card after 2 years!! Big difference from what I was quoted! I am supposed to hear from the review board in the next few days and may ha e to pay an early cancellation fee for canceling. In the meantime I was reinstated with my original provider for no penalty charge. From what I read in the reviews everyone making the calls are named Smith with heavy foreign accents!!!! DONT GO THERE!!!!!

Mary
January 2nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM

(1.4 / 5)

  I received a call a week before Christmas promising 2 $100.00 gift cards (I have 2 meters) then promised 2 $50.00 gift cards for the next year if I went with LP. I would receive paperwork in the mail to sign an agreement or have 72 hours to cancel. I received paperwork after about 6 days but nothing to sign and return.During this time I received 2 emails stating my current provider was cancelling me. I got on the phone to LP stating the issue twice. The second time I was told it would have to be turned over to a review board. I called a third time and talked to a supervisor who told me I made a verbal agreement over the phone. This supposed Cheryl Smith (very thick foreign accent) told me I needed to sign the paperwork, send it back for agreement or call within 72 hours to cancel. When I did receive the paperwork it stated I would receive a $20.00 rewards card after 3 months, a $30.00 card after 1 year and a $50.00 card after 2 years!! Big difference from what I was quoted! I am supposed to hear from the review board in the next few days and may ha e to pay an early cancellation fee for canceling. In the meantime I was reinstated with my original provider for no penalty charge. From what I read in the reviews everyone making the calls are named Smith with heavy foreign accents!!!! DONT GO THERE!!!!!

Mary
January 2nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Get rid of this rotten company.

(1 / 5)

  Rotten bothersome company. Do not deal with them.

loumtx
December 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

misleading sales people

(1 / 5)

  horrible experience just two months after a switch took place. then early termination fees somewhere hidden in the sales pitch even thou sales rep was assuring me the opposite on the day of the switch. in ten years of using various providers I never had to worry about termination fees and i don't intend to pay any fees.

mack
December 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Big scammers stay away

(1 / 5)

  They call repeatedly even though I have filed complaints with the FTC and BBB. The callers use Voip to fake the numbers and won't tell you its Liberty Power until they verify your account. Just search Liberty Power and read the reviews and complaints.

Liberty Power stinks
December 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Big Scam, Do not use Liberty Power

(1 / 5)

  They changed the plan with informing me which changed my bill from $195/month to $750/month.
When I called customer service to resolve the issue, they would not even listen to me as I was ready to settle with higher rate than my previous contract. Both supervisor and manager acted like total jerks, no humility or customer care.
Worst utility experience during past 25 years.

SK
September 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unwanted soliciting in locked apt

(1 / 5)

  I get home from work with grocerys in hand a man in an orange vest is knocking on my neighbors door than stops me ask if i live here. Try to tell me we have been working on peoples elevtricity in the building. Trying to give people rebates asking to see my bill saying he can keep it at a fixed rate but not telling me id save anything by switching other than giving me a rebate. I told him hold on a minute as i get my groceries in the house he says take your time. Then proceeds to try and record the conversation and sign me up for 2 years. I told him wait one more second and j grab my phone telling him I was going to look up his business. He abruptly says I have other customers to help hands me a paper to contact liberty knocks on yet another neighbors door I come back out about to call the police for solicitation he sees me and walks out. There are quite a few elderly citizens in my building and they don't deserve this scam well no one does anyway if I see them again I will make sure I knock them square on the jaw and then call the police. The guy was extreme rude showing up at 5 pm. For anyone that says these people are a legit business they are obviously a paid cockroach working for them. Complete scum of the earth these people are.

Elevated citizen
May 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unsolicited

(1 / 5)

  This company comes into a locked community and starts knocking on doors. I dont know how they get into the building. I ask them how they get in and they say I work here. No you do not work for my complex. You work for Libery and you are not allowed to solicit here. I have called the police before on them. I thing they drop of people at complexes. Please stop. If we wanted your services we would call you!!!!. I will continue to call the police.

Concerned resident
April 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam company

(1 / 5)

  Please listen to me! NEVER SIGN WITH THIS COMPANY!!! It is such a joke! Our bill went from around $50 a month to $280 a month! Even when you call and cancel they will just all of a sudden add themselves a couple months later and now you have them again with out even agreeing to it! Want a refund? Good luck! You can call and call yet they don't do anything for you! Now we also receive daily calls from them. Not about our refund, but them offering us plans. If you are on auto pay and have had them before don't trust the cancelation, be sure to check your bill months after.

Jeff
March 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty good

(4.4 / 5)

  Nice pricing, customer service was prompt and knowledgeable. only took a few minutes to enroll

Jjordan
April 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sneaky pieces of s!

(1 / 5)

  Two representatives came in the house and began to speak with my father. The ask for our bill so they can see what we paid. They took a picture and called our company (reliant energy). That stupid rep broke our contract with Reliant!!! And we never signed anything or even gave them a yes!

Marilyn
March 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verifier

(1 / 5)

  As a third party verifier I'm the one that you get on the phone with and answer a few questions. I read these questions and I see how much more you're paying than you would be with your current supplier. We're not allowed to answer any questions but if I could I would say DON'T SIGN UP WITH THEM!!!!! They are truly a rip off. The representatives are people I would hang up on or slam my door because there's names like "John smith" are not their real name. They sound Indian yet their name is john???? And those could be the biggest scammers unless you know for a fact it's a legit company. Do your research. Ask a lot of questions and if they can't answer it straight forward then it's most likely a scam. And if they rush you to me. The third party verification. Then listen carefully to my questions. We give you the true answers.

Negative
November 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

liberty review

(3.8 / 5)

  They are mediocre and I feel like there are better companies out their that can exceed in the level of performance this company has to offer because they dont really give you offers like other companies do

pien
March 15th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Telemarketing Scam

(0.6 / 5)

  I am a customer of ComEd Electric and not a customer of Liberty Power. I received a call today at 1:18 PM from phone #1-773-36-8882. A robot claimed to be calling from ComEd and said if Ive paid my bill on time for 6 months in a row and wanted to save 15% on my ComEd bill I should press 1 so I did. A man who claimed his name was Jason Smith (I highly doubt it) and had an exceptionally heavy Indian accent started to talk; I noticed a long delay in answering any of my questions, as if the call was occurring in an international call center, perhaps India. I asked him if he was a ComEd employee. He gave me a run around for awhile about being my supplier of fixed energy through ComEd. After much very direct questioning, he finally admitted that he was a supplier to some ComEd customers, and not my supplier and was trying to sell me on joining up with Liberty Power. I explained to him that I was on the federal Do Not Call List and that it was illegal for him to call me unless he worked for a non-profit or a company currently doing business with me. I told him I was going to report this breach and asked him to take me off his calling list for the future. I spoke firmly but professionally. He responded exactly this way Go fuck yourself! and then hung up on me. I find their telemarketing tactics to be illegal and deceitful, not to mention vulgar, and suggest that they stop trying to trick people in to thinking they are my power company and also stop calling phone #s on the do not call list. I also suggest they stop outsourcing call center jobs and hire Americans.

Jennifer Ruth
May 16th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sneaky company..

(1.4 / 5)

  They went to my house while I was extremely shitfaced and my roommates told me that it was a com ed lady saying that we didn't pay our bills. I was the one in charge of bills so it was my responsibility but I was positive I had paid all my bills on time. I was never aware it was a 2 year contract until after I had signed it so that caught me by surprise. I found this forum and was worried I'd be charged a termination fee but they told me since I was in a residential area that there was none but I'm worried there would be a surprise charge in the future..

Cassie G
October 22nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Complete Idiots! They will steal you blind!

(2.2 / 5)

  Liberty Power is the most brain dead company I have ever dealt with. We constantly get late fees applied to our account for a variety of nothing to do with us reasons. We have a large facility and have two electric meters. They continually apply the payment from one account to the other account and slap a late fee on the "underpaid account". Just now they refused to refund a late fee even though we have a cancelled check proving it was paid on time. They said we already got credit for a late fee (for the reason above actually) so they cannot credit another even though we have proof.

TT
May 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great AMERICAN Company

(5 / 5)

  First off, to all on here mentioning delivery charges being increased by Liberty - Sorry that is impossible in Texas due to PUC Laws. Secondly, most of the problems I see posted here, are not on Liberty but on the Independant Agent you signed with who works most likely for a poorly run direct marketing company.

I am the President of one of the Largest Energy Brokerages in Texas and we have Liberty, TXU, Reliant, Green Mountain, Champion, Direct Energy, Suez, Star Tex and Constellation. The largest and most stable energy company's in the world. All of which follow the same PUC Laws. If I were you people, Id find a new broker, one that knows what they are doing.

Finally, how many of you even know how to read your monthly bills? Looking at the amount and writing a check doesnt constitute understanding. Be smart, use your head and there would be no need for boards like this one.

William
March 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great AMERICAN Company

(5 / 5)

  First off, to all on here mentioning delivery charges being increased by Liberty - Sorry that is impossible in Texas due to PUC Laws. Secondly, most of the problems I see posted here, are not on Liberty but on the Independent Agent you signed with who works most likely for a poorly run direct marketing company.

I am the President of one of the Largest Energy Brokerages in Texas and we have Liberty, TXU, Reliant, Green Mountain, Champion, Direct Energy, Suez, Star Tex and Constellation. The largest and most stable energy company's in the world. All of which follow the same PUC Laws. If I were you people, Id find a new broker, one that knows what they are doing.

Finally, how many of you even know how to read your monthly bills? Looking at the amount and writing a check does not constitute understanding. Be smart, use your head and there would be no need for boards like this one.

William
March 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They set you up for late fees

(0 / 5)

  So, I get my bill which is dated the 16th of the month. I was out of town and upon returning went to pay my bill and saw that it was due on the first of the next month - 2 week turn around time! That's ridiculous. I called them and said this bill is dated 9/16; I'm not sure what date I would have received it because I was out of town but if it came in the mail on 9/20 or 9/21, I would have to write my check out that day and mail it just so it was received in time. As it was, I paid the late fee on 10/10 with the bill and then they start calling me looking for their money. I told them that there isn't enough turn around time. They told me they were calling me because they need 7-10 days to process my payment. What they want, which their customer service rep told me, is for me to call the day I receive the bill and pay by credit card or I should arrange for direct debit from my checking account. Neither of these options is acceptable to me. I pay thousand of dollars worth of bills a month and have never been late with a payment which is why this situation bothers me so much. I informed them that I would be switching, which I immediately did and got a better rate with Cirro Energy. If you are a residential customer with Liberty there isn't an early termination so I was glad to be rid of them.

Eileen
October 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...