Pennywise Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Pennywise Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.0 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.0 of 5.

Pennywise Power Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

166 Reviews and Replies for Pennywise Power


Find another company

(1 / 5)

  If you sign up for promotion, just be sure to keep track of the dates. When our promotion was over, our bills doubled, sometimes tripled. Pennywise has exorbitant fees as well. If you are at all late paying your bill, even by a day, they charge you a $20 fee for sending you a disconnect notice in addition to the a late penalty fee. Representatives are by the book and couldn't care less about helping. Lastly, they were originally Discount Power, then went to Pennywise, then went back to Discount Power. Good luck keeping track of all of their changes.

Amanda
March 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammed After Discount Power Acquisition

(1 / 5)

  Same as the other reviews here, I was a Discount Power customer. Once Pennywise took over, my rates "doubled", my usage "tripled", and my bills QUADRUPLED. I went from a $100 avg monthly bill year after year, to a sudden $432 bill. This should be illegal. Cancelling immediately.

Houston, TX
March 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID PENNYWISE POWER AT ALL COSTS

(1.2 / 5)

  i should have read the complaints online before being lured to switch. Do not be fooled by the low rates advertised - my bill increased by hidden flat fees to TEN TIMES the amount of previous bills. Their customer service is THE WORST. Youll be on the phone for half an hour before you speak to anyone and they never respond to emails or inquiries online. Go with any other provider!

Crystal M.
March 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Power Company I Dealt With

(1 / 5)

  I called in to set up a new account in January 2019 when my then provider, Discount Power, changed to Pennywise Power. The representative informed me of a Pennywise 7 plan and asked if I wanted to lock in the rate for the new plan when my current plan expires. She said I could still shop for better rates when the time comes. Within a month they switched my old plan (which expires in May) to the new plan. I was confused and called them to check to see what happened. They said they would investigate and get back to me within 48-72 hours. Right after the call, I checked the current rates and realized the Pennywise 7 plan was in fact cheaper and called them back within minutes to cancel the investigation. A day later I got a call saying they reversed my plan to the old one (my payment due was increased), they had no details on the Pennywise 7 plan and they had no record of my second call to cancel the investigation. If the new rate was not in my favor, they would not have done the reversal this fast and deleted all the records from their system. Bad company to do business with. Buyer be aware!

myfirstreview
March 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PENNYWISE, POUND FOOLISH - SIGN PETITION TO END MUST REMAIN A CUSTOMER THROUGH ACQUISITION OR PAY AN EARLY TERMINATION FEE

(1.4 / 5)

  I have had nothing but wonderful service from all other electric companies (except I switched from Reliant when they didn't notify me after 36 months contract was ending and rates skyrocketed so I left them after 11 years).

Recently Pennywise acquired Discount Power and its being disappointing to say the least. I was set up on automatic payment for the past 4 years and was told nothing was changing with the acquisition but the name. NOT SO! All I would receive from Pennywise is an email of an amount owed, no itemization on why I owed that amount. My rates have increased significantly with Pennywise versus all other electric companies.

Will you join me in a PETITION to make it against the law for companies to arbitrarily assign your account to another company and you don't have any say so. We are sheep just to follow nor slaves with no choices. We are the CONSUMER paying for services and shouldn't be stuck with a company you don't want to do business with. I LIKEN IT TO BEING FORCED TO BE MARRIED TO A PERSON AND THE LAW SAYS YOU CAN'T DIVORCE THEM. When businesses force you to be their customer and you don't want to be their customer that should be against the LAW. I do not want to be a Pennywise customer at all and should not be forced to pay a early termination penalty to decline being assigned to their company and NEITHER should any consumer be forced to do business with any company they don't want to pay their hard earn dollars to! Write to you legislators and consumer groups to protect our rights that if a company is sold and after the assignment the consumer has the right to decline participation within 90 days of the acquisition without cause. If you don't agree with the moral, integrity, and/or service, consumers should not have to reward them with our dollars! Think about it and voice your concerns. Consumers matter and we should have the right to whom we want to do business with.

Unhappy Acquired Customer
February 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Bill Received and then Disconnect

(1 / 5)

  Pennywise took over my electricity from Discount Power. I was not aware of this initially and received no bill for January. Pennywise never sent a bill and I did not know what company even had my account. I am never late paying my bills. I received a disconnect notice on Thursday and Friday my power was shut off. Pennywise claimed they sent bills to my e-mail address, but they did not. I did not have an account set up. I tried to set up an account and they require a ESI ID #! There is no ESI ID # on my disconnect notice and there is no ESI ID # on my meter. What kind of customer service is this! Lousy....

Alan Wander
February 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I don't like them

(1.4 / 5)

  I was switched from Discount Power without any say. I got no bills until I got a notice of pending disconnect. They had placed me on a month to month plan at 1 1/2 the previous price, without contract nor notice. After checking around, I switched to WIndrose. Would recommend that you avoid Pennywise.

Funnerr
February 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switch from direct

(1 / 5)

  never got any notification about change in mail or email about change until bill past due

pennywise sux
February 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lack of notice lead to late chargers and threats to shut off my service -

(1 / 5)

  Evidently as a Discount Power customer, my account was automatically transferred to pennywise power, however I was never notified about the change by mail or email. Now that I am on Pennywise Power, I have no idea what my cost per kWh is nor do I have any idea what my terms and conditions are. The most frustrating part is that because they transferred me over without notification, automatic payments were stopped on Discount Power account and were never initiated with Pennywise. Therefore I had over $60 worth of late charges applied to my account. The only reason I was made aware of being a Pennywise customer was due to receiving a pink notice in the mail saying my power was going to be shut off in a matter of days. Of course it was sent on a Friday, and their customer service hours are Mon-Friday 8am-5pm only, so I guess this will have to wait until Monday. Terrible customer service especially in a customer acquisition situation. Pennywise lost my trust from the beginning.

Nicole
February 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very disappointed they acquired Discount Power!

(1 / 5)

  We were Discount Power customers for years and enjoyed great service, rates and customer service. Recently, Pennywise acquired Discount, and all aspects are deplorable. They did not receive the terms of our 24 month price plan, and our first two bills are double what they should be. Called numerous times during the transition to ensure this wouldnt happen, and now it has. Very dissatisfied!

Galveston customer unhappy!
January 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Incompetent Service - Incapable of problem solving

(1.4 / 5)

  I called to transfer my plan from my roommate's name to mine and they ended cancelling my contract, making a new one, and never sending me an email or mail to setup my new account online. I was not aware of this new account. I set automatic payments on the old account but I was never charged and I didn't noticed because I was traveling abroad for work with limited internet access. They disconnected the power in my house without previous or timely notice. On the phone, they did not have the ability to tell me how much I owed, how to pay, when they would re-connect the power, or any other information-solution whatsoever. During phone conversations they made false statements such as "the house leasing office took over this bill", or "the power will be reconnected between 24-48 hours". After another call, another operator was able to find the account and the amount I owed, which I payed. 4 days later, the house has no power, and still counting. Story is longer than that, but to wrap this up, their email management is pathetic too.

Patricia Varela
December 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest company

(1 / 5)

  When they took over Discount Power I told them I would stay with them if they offered me a comparable plan. Taking advantage of my lack of knowledge on the matter, I'm now stuck in a plan that is extremely expensive (my bills went from $30-50 to $164) and if I want to cancel it I'd have to pay $150. It will be cheaper for me to cancel it and pay that fee than to continue with them.

Jem
December 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rough Start

(2.6 / 5)

  I was a Discount Power customer that was taken over by PennyWise. I received an email detailing the online registration process on 11-14-18. I go and register and the account number is invalid. I try again thinking the transition was not complete, but again, no dice. I then succumb to calling. Going through the automated messages, account isn't valid. Use social security to verify my account, SS # isn't recognized. After finally getting to a customer service rep 10 pages latere, who was very courteous and polite, he was able to verify that the account number had the wrong suffix attached. How does the account number get changed after transition is complete? Low and behold, an email sent 12-6-18 had the correct account number.

Steve
December 7th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Transition

(1.8 / 5)

  Pennywise just acquired Discount Power. The information Pennywise provided for transitioning from Discount Power accounts was wrong (including account numbers) and customer support was non existent.....quit on hold after 20 minutes. Wouldn't you think during a migration extra customer service reps would be available. If this little attention to detail is exhibited during this honeymoon period I'm anxious about what comes next. Also bothered me that you can't find the names of Pennywise company officers on any websites which can only make one wonder why.

Laissez faire
November 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Do Business with these Lying Crooks

(1 / 5)

  I called and set a date to turn on my service. They did not turn the service on. I called them on said date and they said it wouldn't be on until yesterday. I cancelled service and said I would not be paying the startup fee since they did not honor the contract date. They kept my service on without my knowledge and then blocked service from another provider. I've had to spend HOURS over the phone with these lying crooks. I have gone to the BBB and finally got a call from someone named Clancy Brown who said that all would be refunded and I wouldn't be charged. Then the BBB tells me that they require I call them and cancel service, even though I have done so on multiple occasions. Then they send me a bill for $310.

Do not believe a word that they say over the phone, it doesn't matter if it's coming from someone higher up the food chain.

Jeff
September 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service and long hold times on the phone.

(1 / 5)

  They really gave me a bad time when I cancelled my service after 6 years. I have disputed their final billing. They say it may take two months to resolve this matter.
Their rates are no lower than most companies.
Customer service is terrible.
Think hard before selecting them as your electricity company.

Orbie Maddox
July 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE: Policies set up to generate fee revenue

(2.6 / 5)

  The plan I am on requires automatic payment. They send you an email saying that your account will be debited on the due date. However, they actually clear the payment at least two business days EARLIER (4 actual days in this particular case) than the date they say they will debit your account. If you don't have enough money in the account on that day, this will result in a returned payment, a late fee, and an immediate disconnect notice mailer (which is another fee), and they remove you from autodraft (which the account requires). I found out that the payment hadn't gone through 7 days later via snail mail disconnect notice and paid it online. The fees were not assessed until the next billing cycle, and multiple disconnect notices were mailed. We've only been charged for a single disconnect notice so far, but two were mailed- we'll have to watch our next bill.

When I talked to customer service, they removed the fees in question (after an extended hold) but in *their* system it says that the payment was processed on the due date, not earlier. So Pennywise is hanging their customer service reps out to dry with irate customers. FWIW, the account rep handled the situation well, but it is out of their hands.

Customer
July 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent company

(5 / 5)

  I have been with Pennywise for 1 year. I've had excellent service, excellent prices (very low electric bills for 800-1750 kw used). I have no complaints with them at all. My 1 year contract is expiring, though, and I will get a better plan with a different company. Sorry to leave Pennywise.

Susan
June 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Couldnt be more disappointed

(1 / 5)

  Signed up with Pennywise power. Sent two forms of ID, and paid $168 deposit. That was all on May 31 and June 1. My power was supposed to switch on 14 June. On June 13 I get a letter saying that they had canceled my account. So I call theCustomer care and they said sorry that plans no longer available all we can do is offer you a more expensive policy. Worst customer service there wasnt even a manager to speak with.

Craig
June 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from Pennywise Power!!!

(1 / 5)

  Worst. Company. Ever! Stay away from this HORRIBLE business. I never signed up for service when I made them aware of the problem and that I did not even reside at the residence anymore, they STILL continued to bill me and eventually sent me to collections and affected my credit score. Its pathetic that this Texas company takes advantage of Texans. Sad. Clearly crooks.

Andrew P
May 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...