Home > Read Reviews > Reliant Energy

Reliant Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Reliant are the order experience, rated at 1.8 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.4 of 5.

Reliant Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

359 Reviews and 47 Replies for Reliant


Exorbitant bills

(1 / 5)

  I wish I could choose less than 1 star. My life was perfect until I switch to Reliant. Iwas so happy with TXU paying bills lower than 200. Reliant has this catch of average billing that the only thing they do is still your money. I got bill of 295.00 dollars every single month.....I canceled the contract regardless the cancellation fee. Now I am with another company. STAY AWAY FROM RELIANT!!!

Ely
April 2nd, 2019

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds April 11th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1.2 / 5)

  Such a horrible experience. I started my contract with them on June 16, 2018. They sold me on the fact that our first month would be free and every month after would be reasonably low. I was tight on money at the time so it sounded like a great deal. I did not look at reviews which i should have and was a mistake on my part. First month was free as promised, second month was reasonably low also as promised...then third month comes and i get hit with a 300 almost 400$ bill. It's now March of 2019 (9 months after I started the contract) and I still to this day pay 350+ on my bill every month. I work 2 jobs so I'm rarely ever home to use it. I have multiple friends that live in HOUSES that don't pay anything more than 90-150$. If I could rate this 0 stars I would. If you are looking into Reliant I recommend you NOT to unless you want your pockets hurting every month. I wish someone would have given me this advice before signing! Worst electric company by far!

Lourdes H
March 30th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry we fell short in meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience, in order to investigate this matter we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds April 11th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price game every year

(2.6 / 5)

  Every year I call to get prices. They give me the same speech. It doesn't matter how long you have been with them and that you pay your bill on time. Time for a change

C Kin
March 12th, 2019

We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company ever!!

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for their prepaid service seeing I just purchased my first home and was undecided on what company to go with. Boy Im glad I did sign a contract. Horrible service! My service was not turned on the day I was told. I called back multiple times and spoke to a supervisor who assured me it would be connected. 2 hrs later, nothing. I had workers at my home to complete my floors, needless to say they did not get done due to no electricity. Lack of training, communication, and customer service. Oh and I requested a refund for what I paid and they said they would mail me a check, they didnt even have the desecntcy to refund my debit card, thats how I paid. I WIll be telling everyone not to go with reliant, dont waste your time or money!! I would give zeros on ratings if I could.

Renee Contreras
March 4th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds April 11th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lots of billing problems

(1.4 / 5)

  Their billing department could not draft from my account with out consistently making errors for reasons that are still unknown. I was charged fee after fee after fee and would have to regularly call to get them removed. I finally had to change providers and cut my losses. Absolutely the worst. Even the final bill was not final. I would live by candlelight than deal with this company again.


January 24th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 31st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The are awful

(1.4 / 5)

  Reliant has issues with their billing system and the text message service. They blamed my bank for billing errors, and the bank provided me proof that it was Reliant. The shut my service four times in two weeks for a payment that was made.

Tired Customer
January 23rd, 2019

We sincerely apologize for your negative experience. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100.

Reliant Responds January 31st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They do not care for their customers only money hungry

(1.4 / 5)

  I would give this company ZERO stars if able. I've been with them for going on three years. I've always paid my bill on time despite the fact my bill is higher every time and I'm only home at night! I recently had a baby and ended up losing my job due to insufficient childcare. I just started a new job and unfortunately have been playing catch up the past two months on bills. I needed just THREE days to pay! Which was the day I got paid. This company had no remorse and still cut off my service in 40 degree weather with a 9 year old and newborn baby. We came home to no lights and a freezing apartment. It's been a difficult time period for me! Just had a baby, lost my job, and my children's father had also just passed. All they told me was that there was nothing they could do and for me to call 211! Which also wasn't any help! I wasn't even asking for anything to be waived, discounted, nothing! Just a few more days to pay my bill in full including any ridiculous fees they added! I hate them and I am currently searching for a New electricity provider! I know for a fact there's better out there because the previous provider I had at my old apartment not only would work with you on a payment plan instead of instantly turning off your lights, they also offered a discount since my kids were on CHIP so my bill was never more than $80. Unfortunately, they do not offer their services on the area I moved to which I hate.......

Stella
January 19th, 2019

We sincerely apologize for your experience -- this behavior doesn't reflect our core values. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100.

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars and thieves

(1 / 5)

  A salesman came to our door stating that we had been overpaying for our electric bill and we needed to sign some papers to get a refund and a reduced rate. When my wife asked if he was with the energy company we were using, he said yes, and claimed that Reliant was just a subsidiary of the other company (a complete fabrication). He was actively deceitful and forceful in pressing the paperwork, and gave zero indication that we were signing up for a completely different electrical company, even after asked directly about it and after the paperwork was signed!

We called Reliant that evening, told them about the fraud, and specifically instructed them to cancel our enrollment. They assured us that the enrollment would be cancelled, that we would experience no service disruption, and that we would be perfectly free to remain with our current energy provider. That was last week. Today, we received a notice from our current provider that our service is being transferred - this despite the clear assurance of the Reliant representative that we wouldn't have to deal with this. I have a recording of the phone call where their agent promised that we would be free to remain with our current company with no issues; this was apparently just as honest as their salesman was.

We will never ever use this company. If this is how they conduct their business, it wouldn't even matter if the energy was free, it's not worth it.

Matt G
December 19th, 2018

We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad conflict resolution

(1.6 / 5)

  We started with Reliant electricity when we moved here in April from Nc. We had no issues until September when we realized we were about to be disconnected. Apparently, because of The lack of security, Reliant let some random person call in and use our address to disconnect or service.
Mind you, we were and still are under contract with them.

This whole thing has been a nightmare. We are a single income family and our electric bill has almost doubled. That is A BIG deal for us. Our budget is super fixed, especially after our son was born with undiagnosed health issues.

I have spent so much time talking to Reliant reps and they assure me everything is fine, then its not, but this time it is, until now when they are telling me this big balance is due. It is so frustrating. It feels like Reliant doesnt value me as a customer or a person as I have spent so much time trying to resolve this issue. I will also be filing a complaint with the BBB. I just want to advise anyone thinking about using Reliant , to reconsider.

Victoria
November 25th, 2018

Hi Victoria, we sent your comments and review to our customer care team, and they have followed up to let us know they were able to reach you. We are glad your issue is now resolved and would like to thank you for your business. Let us know if there is anything more we can do.

Reliant Responds December 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be aware of this compamy

(2 / 5)

  Everything with Reliant takes months to process. On the top of that, their customer care representatives push the costliest plan they have to the customers to reach their sales quotas. They make it difficult to leave a contract, and try to squeeze every penny from customers in every possible way.

They didn't approve my application the first time I applied for electricity in July, though I had submitted all the required documents. Rejected my application almost after a month, during which I was fined heftily by my society. Later when I applied for the second time, one of their customer (dont) care representatives gave me the costliest electricity plan available with Reliant and now my electricity bill is increasing every week. I have submitted a request to change my plan and the timeline given to me is 2 months. THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

Kanad
November 20th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I wish I could give negative stars to these crooks!

(1 / 5)

  Stay FAR, FAR AWAY from this company! They will rip you off with their "average billing". They will put you on their highest rate and charge you out the wazoo! When we finally cancelled, they sent us a final bill for over $900, even though they've already fleeced us for thousands. I wouldn't even wish these criminals on my worst enemy.

David
November 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible run... Lies lies

(1 / 5)

  I signed up at Walmart. The sales man lied and said I would get a gift card after 3 months. 200 gift card. After I wait the time frame... no gift card and now I'm paying 200 to 250 a month for electric. The it gets shuts off I still get charged another 200 dollars for the service being disconnected. NEVER sign up with them

Amber
October 11th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused. We would like the opportunity to make this right and take your concerns very seriously. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Price, Great Service

(5 / 5)

  Reliant had the best month-to-month pricing I could find at the time, which seemed too good to be true, so I expected the rate to jump up the following month. So far with the second month, there has been no increase. I also really like the monthly estimated cost and energy use notifications as well as the website itself, which is very good in my opinion.

Jerrell
September 10th, 2018

Thanks for your feedback! We'll continue to do our best to provide affordable service to you and all our customers. Thank you for choosing Reliant!

Reliant Responds October 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I love Reliant!

(5 / 5)

  Great customer service!

Susie
August 25th, 2018

We're so happy that our customer service agents were able to help you. Thank you for choosing Reliant!

Reliant Responds December 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishobest

(1.6 / 5)

  I was lured into their ofc. At Walmart. 1st they told me I would get a 12 3 with free weekends and 75.00 coupon. Sounds Great! Signed! Then as I was asking questions they told me if I use less than 1,000 my rate goes up for using less. I continued asking questions then it was revealed to me if I use more than 2,000 my rate changes again! Totally confused by all the rate changes! In addition, I told them my contract with my previous company ends on 8-14-18 so I don't want to start with them until 8/15/218, fine it was stated on the contract. I should have know by all the RED FLAGS, but my neighbor has them and referred me. All fine .right?! NOT! the day I signed 7/27/18 they started service. Which meant i received a cancellation fee and lost my .8 from my previous provider. When did I find this out? WHILE ON VACATION!! yes, I started receiving emails from both providers!! Which added to my confusion and interrupted my vacation.. thanks Reliant! So I tried hard to put this out of my mind until I can back from vacation, worked somewhat! When I came back it was a TOTAL MESS RELIANT CAUSED THAT I HAD TO CLEAN UP! I was on the phone with their office several times! In addition, I had to call my precious provider several times to take me back ASAP. Will never leave TriEagle, their rates are good, consistant, billing is easy to read and customer service is AWESOME!!! will not recommend Reliant they are dishonest!

Dont trust Reliant
August 16th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed to hear of the challenges you experienced. We are so sorry that this created stress during your vacation. If there is anything we can do at this point to explain or assist with any remaining issues, please give us a call or chat 24/7 http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm. We will utilize your feedback to continuously work to improve.

Reliant Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  My boyfriend and I had Reliant for awhile and I also just had to set it up for my boss in his new place. They SUCK. Theyre more expensive, and their customer service is awful. Every time we have called, which is several separate times, the customer service constantly tries to upsell you. And when you say no, they ask Whats the reason, why not? Have you tried it before? to try and make you feel awkward and get you to pay more money. I felt like I was talking to a robot. My boyfriend has also gotten contradicting information from them before and it is very hard to fix issues or ask questions since you have to call and field all the upsells being thrown at you, regardless of what youre calling for. And I waited at the end for a survey and the woman just was like like I said, have a good one, good bye!!!! very rudely and hung up and I got no survey. Of course.

Madison
July 20th, 2018

Hi Madison, thanks so much for your feedback. We are so sorry this is how you experienced Reliant. We offer a variety of products and services in an effort to help customers, and we are saddened to hear that the experience we delivered came across as too sales-focused. We will definitely look at our process and work towards doing a better job of balancing the call. Thanks again, we really do appreciate your perspective.

Reliant Responds July 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switching people without asking

(1 / 5)

  so i wake in morning i see the power energy im with charge $ 250 for disconnection or switching account also my account is scheduled for disconnection because of your employee don`t know their job they switching people without asking them now i have to clean up your mess i recommend to shut off your company and start new business as baby sitter that if your employee how to baby sit .

RAMI
July 17th, 2018

Hi Rami, thanks for letting us know about this issue. We'll be in touch to work with you to make sure this is resolved.

Reliant Responds July 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switching other people with out notification

(1 / 5)

  so i wake in morning i see the power energy im with charge $ 250 for disconnection or switching account also my account is scheduled for disconnection because of your employee don`t know their job they switching people without asking them now i have to clean up your mess i recommend to shut off your company and start new business as baby sitter that if your employee how to baby sit .

Rami
July 17th, 2018

Hi Rami, thanks for letting us know about this issue. We'll be in touch to work with you to make sure this is resolved.

Reliant Responds July 30th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies! All lies!

(1 / 5)

  Bill gets higher each month even when we are home less. That are not friendly and willing to work with you. When asked questions, they are unable to give a good answer. Terrible!

Fed Up Houston
July 5th, 2018

Hello - We can agree, summer usage increases are challenging. We'd be glad to review your account with you. We definitely want to always provide a friendly and helpful experience, and we are sorry that we fell short of expectations. We'd love the opportunity to turn this around for you, please call or chat with us 24/7 and we can take a second look together: http://bit.ly/2BfDppZ.

Reliant Responds July 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible on many levels

(1.4 / 5)

  Our bill usually runs 400-600 month. Thats a lot. But this past months bill was 809.00....WTH thats patently improbable. Its just my husband and I. And we are fiercely diligent in using the least electricity possible. Rarely turn the AC on. Dryer broke 2 months ago and we will not be replacing. We use clothes lines now. Unplugged a 2nd refridgerator. Weve had an above ground 24 round pool for years. Husband maintains it and turn pump off regularly. Hes semi retired and Im disbabled. We spend mist of the time on the patio by the pool because the breezes keep us cool.
Know what we did today? We had a last minute garage sale so we could eat this week. Im not kidding. We also needed to fill gas. The 200 above normal bill has made it a difficult week. So while my husband is manning the garage salad duties, Im spending a beautiful afternoon researching other power companies and plans and reading reviews. Because come Monday morning I absolutely will ne changing electric companies. The companies should do more than provide power. Maybe show concern. Like: Hello Customer, were concerned about an unusually high bill you just received. Please call 800..,well figure this out. Absolutely despicable. And I plan on highly discouraging anyone I can from using reliant. Starting with a Facebook post of the bill. Almost forgot. When I called customer service today to ask for a few faux extension to pay the bill ( first time ever asking for one on 35 yrs ) she said balance was zero. So reliant already got their grubby hands on my $ and its on hold. So now its gonna to hit my account and theres not enough in there. Ill get rebilled with late fee. She didnt have any idea how to help me. Useless

Will Never Use or Recommend Reliant Again. Despicable.
June 30th, 2018

Hello Lisa - thank you for your feedback. This does sound like a very challenging situation. We will attempt to locate your account using the information you've provided and be in touch. If we cannot reach you, please call or chat with us 24/7 and let's work together on these concerns: http://bit.ly/2BfDppZ.

Reliant Responds July 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...