Home > Read Reviews > Reliant Energy

Reliant Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Reliant are their billing & account management system, rated at 2.2 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.0 of 5.

Reliant Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

365 Reviews and 52 Replies for Reliant


Best in Tx

(5 / 5)

  Two young men in Walmart approached me with information. Normally, would not have taken the time. The appeal was free nights. I work as a housekeeper. Get home @ 6 pm, turn AC down, do laundry, cook, shower. Literally, Reliant saved my bank account. Was paying between $2-300 per month on electricity. As a healthy senior, that was still a large amount of each months funds. Cant say enough about Reliant Energy, truly rescued a senior trying to survive. Now I am revived, cool and clean for the next day for unbelievably low cost! Not paid for this review, just so truly blessed by this company!

LaDonna Davis
July 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poorly designed web page

(1 / 5)

  Don't sign with Reliant energy they are a terrible company. For starters they have poor customer service. Also the web site is purposely confusing in how they don't let you know when your contract is up but will send out a notice about if you want to resign next year 2 months before contract is up for their own benefit. They at least could include a warning of the fee if you break contract early. I didn't know what I was missing until I left them and now my provider gives me weekly emails about my power usage and bill estimation, so I don't have to log into the site to find out. What a smart idea! So don't go Reliant energy they don't care about their customers at all.

Robert Szucs
May 8th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry we fell short in meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience, in order to investigate this matter we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New Servie Set -Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  Customer Service set up 3 different accounts, all I want a transfer service, paying on three different accounts, they delete 3 times , shut power off in the process, in span of 24 hrs, one 8 Representative did not know what was done on account. Plus requesting a $600 deposit. WTF... They blew out 2 of my UPS and computer monitors with shut downs.

BigHex
May 7th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will need more information to investigate this matter to ensure this doesn't happen again. Please contact us here, 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

this company rips you off

(1 / 5)

  Someone referred me to reliant my worst experience.This company was charging me for usage that were not performed. Charged you $20.00 a early disconnect notice on top of that 10:00 reconnect fee. Truly amazingly sad. There were times that I'll be gone away for a month my usage read 1800 kw, I they claimed they send someone, I know that was a lie. Then they gets an attitude when you question them.

Ms.Starks
April 28th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry we fell short in meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience, in order to investigate this matter we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant customers pay for their employee mistakes

(2 / 5)

  We switched to Reliant several months ago and are almost at the end of our current contract. We have 2 accounts- residential and commercial. My husband told the lady from Reliant that we wanted our residential account switched to Reliant. She stated she did not need the ESI number for that account. Well what she did was switch our commercial and the manger told us there was nothing he could do. We ended up paying an early cancellation fee for the commercial and was charged twice for the electricity for the residential since that contract expired. Thanks for costing us roughly $300 Reliant because your employee didnt know what she was doing and made your customer pay for your employee mistakes!
NEVER again Reliant!!! BTW Gexa was great when we used them and we will be going back!

Rosemary and Donald
April 23rd, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry we fell short in meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience, in order to investigate this matter we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Higher than other providers

(2.6 / 5)

  I use very little energy in my 1850 sq ft home - top month is August at ~900 kWh. Reliant does not offer plans that fit my usage habits and wont negotiate. Also, highest Energy Charge!! More than 3.5 cents higher than other companies. Refused to negotiate with loyal, long-term customer. What??? First time in 25 years I kicked Reliant to the curb.

RangerGideon
April 16th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you're not satisfied with your current plan and would be happy to discuss the other plans that may be available for your at this time. If you would like to discuss alternative plans, please contact us 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Exorbitant bills

(1 / 5)

  I wish I could choose less than 1 star. My life was perfect until I switch to Reliant. Iwas so happy with TXU paying bills lower than 200. Reliant has this catch of average billing that the only thing they do is still your money. I got bill of 295.00 dollars every single month.....I canceled the contract regardless the cancellation fee. Now I am with another company. STAY AWAY FROM RELIANT!!!

Ely
April 2nd, 2019

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds April 11th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1.2 / 5)

  Such a horrible experience. I started my contract with them on June 16, 2018. They sold me on the fact that our first month would be free and every month after would be reasonably low. I was tight on money at the time so it sounded like a great deal. I did not look at reviews which i should have and was a mistake on my part. First month was free as promised, second month was reasonably low also as promised...then third month comes and i get hit with a 300 almost 400$ bill. It's now March of 2019 (9 months after I started the contract) and I still to this day pay 350+ on my bill every month. I work 2 jobs so I'm rarely ever home to use it. I have multiple friends that live in HOUSES that don't pay anything more than 90-150$. If I could rate this 0 stars I would. If you are looking into Reliant I recommend you NOT to unless you want your pockets hurting every month. I wish someone would have given me this advice before signing! Worst electric company by far!

Lourdes H
March 30th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry we fell short in meeting your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience, in order to investigate this matter we will need more information from you. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds April 11th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price game every year

(2.6 / 5)

  Every year I call to get prices. They give me the same speech. It doesn't matter how long you have been with them and that you pay your bill on time. Time for a change

C Kin
March 12th, 2019

We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company ever!!

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for their prepaid service seeing I just purchased my first home and was undecided on what company to go with. Boy Im glad I did sign a contract. Horrible service! My service was not turned on the day I was told. I called back multiple times and spoke to a supervisor who assured me it would be connected. 2 hrs later, nothing. I had workers at my home to complete my floors, needless to say they did not get done due to no electricity. Lack of training, communication, and customer service. Oh and I requested a refund for what I paid and they said they would mail me a check, they didnt even have the desecntcy to refund my debit card, thats how I paid. I WIll be telling everyone not to go with reliant, dont waste your time or money!! I would give zeros on ratings if I could.

Renee Contreras
March 4th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds April 11th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lots of billing problems

(1.4 / 5)

  Their billing department could not draft from my account with out consistently making errors for reasons that are still unknown. I was charged fee after fee after fee and would have to regularly call to get them removed. I finally had to change providers and cut my losses. Absolutely the worst. Even the final bill was not final. I would live by candlelight than deal with this company again.


January 24th, 2019

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 31st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The are awful

(1.4 / 5)

  Reliant has issues with their billing system and the text message service. They blamed my bank for billing errors, and the bank provided me proof that it was Reliant. The shut my service four times in two weeks for a payment that was made.

Tired Customer
January 23rd, 2019

We sincerely apologize for your negative experience. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100.

Reliant Responds January 31st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They do not care for their customers only money hungry

(1.4 / 5)

  I would give this company ZERO stars if able. I've been with them for going on three years. I've always paid my bill on time despite the fact my bill is higher every time and I'm only home at night! I recently had a baby and ended up losing my job due to insufficient childcare. I just started a new job and unfortunately have been playing catch up the past two months on bills. I needed just THREE days to pay! Which was the day I got paid. This company had no remorse and still cut off my service in 40 degree weather with a 9 year old and newborn baby. We came home to no lights and a freezing apartment. It's been a difficult time period for me! Just had a baby, lost my job, and my children's father had also just passed. All they told me was that there was nothing they could do and for me to call 211! Which also wasn't any help! I wasn't even asking for anything to be waived, discounted, nothing! Just a few more days to pay my bill in full including any ridiculous fees they added! I hate them and I am currently searching for a New electricity provider! I know for a fact there's better out there because the previous provider I had at my old apartment not only would work with you on a payment plan instead of instantly turning off your lights, they also offered a discount since my kids were on CHIP so my bill was never more than $80. Unfortunately, they do not offer their services on the area I moved to which I hate.......

Stella
January 19th, 2019

We sincerely apologize for your experience -- this behavior doesn't reflect our core values. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100.

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars and thieves

(1 / 5)

  A salesman came to our door stating that we had been overpaying for our electric bill and we needed to sign some papers to get a refund and a reduced rate. When my wife asked if he was with the energy company we were using, he said yes, and claimed that Reliant was just a subsidiary of the other company (a complete fabrication). He was actively deceitful and forceful in pressing the paperwork, and gave zero indication that we were signing up for a completely different electrical company, even after asked directly about it and after the paperwork was signed!

We called Reliant that evening, told them about the fraud, and specifically instructed them to cancel our enrollment. They assured us that the enrollment would be cancelled, that we would experience no service disruption, and that we would be perfectly free to remain with our current energy provider. That was last week. Today, we received a notice from our current provider that our service is being transferred - this despite the clear assurance of the Reliant representative that we wouldn't have to deal with this. I have a recording of the phone call where their agent promised that we would be free to remain with our current company with no issues; this was apparently just as honest as their salesman was.

We will never ever use this company. If this is how they conduct their business, it wouldn't even matter if the energy was free, it's not worth it.

Matt G
December 19th, 2018

We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad conflict resolution

(1.6 / 5)

  We started with Reliant electricity when we moved here in April from Nc. We had no issues until September when we realized we were about to be disconnected. Apparently, because of The lack of security, Reliant let some random person call in and use our address to disconnect or service.
Mind you, we were and still are under contract with them.

This whole thing has been a nightmare. We are a single income family and our electric bill has almost doubled. That is A BIG deal for us. Our budget is super fixed, especially after our son was born with undiagnosed health issues.

I have spent so much time talking to Reliant reps and they assure me everything is fine, then its not, but this time it is, until now when they are telling me this big balance is due. It is so frustrating. It feels like Reliant doesnt value me as a customer or a person as I have spent so much time trying to resolve this issue. I will also be filing a complaint with the BBB. I just want to advise anyone thinking about using Reliant , to reconsider.

Victoria
November 25th, 2018

Hi Victoria, we sent your comments and review to our customer care team, and they have followed up to let us know they were able to reach you. We are glad your issue is now resolved and would like to thank you for your business. Let us know if there is anything more we can do.

Reliant Responds December 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be aware of this compamy

(2 / 5)

  Everything with Reliant takes months to process. On the top of that, their customer care representatives push the costliest plan they have to the customers to reach their sales quotas. They make it difficult to leave a contract, and try to squeeze every penny from customers in every possible way.

They didn't approve my application the first time I applied for electricity in July, though I had submitted all the required documents. Rejected my application almost after a month, during which I was fined heftily by my society. Later when I applied for the second time, one of their customer (dont) care representatives gave me the costliest electricity plan available with Reliant and now my electricity bill is increasing every week. I have submitted a request to change my plan and the timeline given to me is 2 months. THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

Kanad
November 20th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I wish I could give negative stars to these crooks!

(1 / 5)

  Stay FAR, FAR AWAY from this company! They will rip you off with their "average billing". They will put you on their highest rate and charge you out the wazoo! When we finally cancelled, they sent us a final bill for over $900, even though they've already fleeced us for thousands. I wouldn't even wish these criminals on my worst enemy.

David
November 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible run... Lies lies

(1 / 5)

  I signed up at Walmart. The sales man lied and said I would get a gift card after 3 months. 200 gift card. After I wait the time frame... no gift card and now I'm paying 200 to 250 a month for electric. The it gets shuts off I still get charged another 200 dollars for the service being disconnected. NEVER sign up with them

Amber
October 11th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused. We would like the opportunity to make this right and take your concerns very seriously. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Price, Great Service

(5 / 5)

  Reliant had the best month-to-month pricing I could find at the time, which seemed too good to be true, so I expected the rate to jump up the following month. So far with the second month, there has been no increase. I also really like the monthly estimated cost and energy use notifications as well as the website itself, which is very good in my opinion.

Jerrell
September 10th, 2018

Thanks for your feedback! We'll continue to do our best to provide affordable service to you and all our customers. Thank you for choosing Reliant!

Reliant Responds October 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I love Reliant!

(5 / 5)

  Great customer service!

Susie
August 25th, 2018

We're so happy that our customer service agents were able to help you. Thank you for choosing Reliant!

Reliant Responds December 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...