Home > Read Reviews > Reliant Energy

Reliant Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Reliant are their billing & account management system, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.2 of 5.

Reliant Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

367 Reviews and 55 Replies for Reliant


Best Price, Great Service

(5 / 5)

  Reliant had the best month-to-month pricing I could find at the time, which seemed too good to be true, so I expected the rate to jump up the following month. So far with the second month, there has been no increase. I also really like the monthly estimated cost and energy use notifications as well as the website itself, which is very good in my opinion.

Jerrell
September 10th, 2018

Thanks for your feedback! We'll continue to do our best to provide affordable service to you and all our customers. Thank you for choosing Reliant!

Reliant Responds October 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I love Reliant!

(5 / 5)

  Great customer service!

Susie
August 25th, 2018

We're so happy that our customer service agents were able to help you. Thank you for choosing Reliant!

Reliant Responds December 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishobest

(1.6 / 5)

  I was lured into their ofc. At Walmart. 1st they told me I would get a 12 3 with free weekends and 75.00 coupon. Sounds Great! Signed! Then as I was asking questions they told me if I use less than 1,000 my rate goes up for using less. I continued asking questions then it was revealed to me if I use more than 2,000 my rate changes again! Totally confused by all the rate changes! In addition, I told them my contract with my previous company ends on 8-14-18 so I don't want to start with them until 8/15/218, fine it was stated on the contract. I should have know by all the RED FLAGS, but my neighbor has them and referred me. All fine .right?! NOT! the day I signed 7/27/18 they started service. Which meant i received a cancellation fee and lost my .8 from my previous provider. When did I find this out? WHILE ON VACATION!! yes, I started receiving emails from both providers!! Which added to my confusion and interrupted my vacation.. thanks Reliant! So I tried hard to put this out of my mind until I can back from vacation, worked somewhat! When I came back it was a TOTAL MESS RELIANT CAUSED THAT I HAD TO CLEAN UP! I was on the phone with their office several times! In addition, I had to call my precious provider several times to take me back ASAP. Will never leave TriEagle, their rates are good, consistant, billing is easy to read and customer service is AWESOME!!! will not recommend Reliant they are dishonest!

Dont trust Reliant
August 16th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed to hear of the challenges you experienced. We are so sorry that this created stress during your vacation. If there is anything we can do at this point to explain or assist with any remaining issues, please give us a call or chat 24/7 http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm. We will utilize your feedback to continuously work to improve.

Reliant Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  My boyfriend and I had Reliant for awhile and I also just had to set it up for my boss in his new place. They SUCK. Theyre more expensive, and their customer service is awful. Every time we have called, which is several separate times, the customer service constantly tries to upsell you. And when you say no, they ask Whats the reason, why not? Have you tried it before? to try and make you feel awkward and get you to pay more money. I felt like I was talking to a robot. My boyfriend has also gotten contradicting information from them before and it is very hard to fix issues or ask questions since you have to call and field all the upsells being thrown at you, regardless of what youre calling for. And I waited at the end for a survey and the woman just was like like I said, have a good one, good bye!!!! very rudely and hung up and I got no survey. Of course.

Madison
July 20th, 2018

Hi Madison, thanks so much for your feedback. We are so sorry this is how you experienced Reliant. We offer a variety of products and services in an effort to help customers, and we are saddened to hear that the experience we delivered came across as too sales-focused. We will definitely look at our process and work towards doing a better job of balancing the call. Thanks again, we really do appreciate your perspective.

Reliant Responds July 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switching people without asking

(1 / 5)

  so i wake in morning i see the power energy im with charge $ 250 for disconnection or switching account also my account is scheduled for disconnection because of your employee don`t know their job they switching people without asking them now i have to clean up your mess i recommend to shut off your company and start new business as baby sitter that if your employee how to baby sit .

RAMI
July 17th, 2018

Hi Rami, thanks for letting us know about this issue. We'll be in touch to work with you to make sure this is resolved.

Reliant Responds July 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switching other people with out notification

(1 / 5)

  so i wake in morning i see the power energy im with charge $ 250 for disconnection or switching account also my account is scheduled for disconnection because of your employee don`t know their job they switching people without asking them now i have to clean up your mess i recommend to shut off your company and start new business as baby sitter that if your employee how to baby sit .

Rami
July 17th, 2018

Hi Rami, thanks for letting us know about this issue. We'll be in touch to work with you to make sure this is resolved.

Reliant Responds July 30th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies! All lies!

(1 / 5)

  Bill gets higher each month even when we are home less. That are not friendly and willing to work with you. When asked questions, they are unable to give a good answer. Terrible!

Fed Up Houston
July 5th, 2018

Hello - We can agree, summer usage increases are challenging. We'd be glad to review your account with you. We definitely want to always provide a friendly and helpful experience, and we are sorry that we fell short of expectations. We'd love the opportunity to turn this around for you, please call or chat with us 24/7 and we can take a second look together: http://bit.ly/2BfDppZ.

Reliant Responds July 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible on many levels

(1.4 / 5)

  Our bill usually runs 400-600 month. Thats a lot. But this past months bill was 809.00....WTH thats patently improbable. Its just my husband and I. And we are fiercely diligent in using the least electricity possible. Rarely turn the AC on. Dryer broke 2 months ago and we will not be replacing. We use clothes lines now. Unplugged a 2nd refridgerator. Weve had an above ground 24 round pool for years. Husband maintains it and turn pump off regularly. Hes semi retired and Im disbabled. We spend mist of the time on the patio by the pool because the breezes keep us cool.
Know what we did today? We had a last minute garage sale so we could eat this week. Im not kidding. We also needed to fill gas. The 200 above normal bill has made it a difficult week. So while my husband is manning the garage salad duties, Im spending a beautiful afternoon researching other power companies and plans and reading reviews. Because come Monday morning I absolutely will ne changing electric companies. The companies should do more than provide power. Maybe show concern. Like: Hello Customer, were concerned about an unusually high bill you just received. Please call 800..,well figure this out. Absolutely despicable. And I plan on highly discouraging anyone I can from using reliant. Starting with a Facebook post of the bill. Almost forgot. When I called customer service today to ask for a few faux extension to pay the bill ( first time ever asking for one on 35 yrs ) she said balance was zero. So reliant already got their grubby hands on my $ and its on hold. So now its gonna to hit my account and theres not enough in there. Ill get rebilled with late fee. She didnt have any idea how to help me. Useless

Will Never Use or Recommend Reliant Again. Despicable.
June 30th, 2018

Hello Lisa - thank you for your feedback. This does sound like a very challenging situation. We will attempt to locate your account using the information you've provided and be in touch. If we cannot reach you, please call or chat with us 24/7 and let's work together on these concerns: http://bit.ly/2BfDppZ.

Reliant Responds July 10th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Offensive solicitors at my door

(1 / 5)

  This evening two young people came to my door claiming to want to help me understand my electricity meter. They were wearing T-shirts with the Reliant logo on the sleeve. They had badges and a solicitor permit. I told them that 8 pm was too late to be knocking on my door; and, that I had no intention of showing them my electric bill. Turns out they were part of a group of 4 young people in our neighborhood knocking on doors. The neighbors reported that two of the people cursed them and flipped them off. The ones who came to my door were polite but didn't want to take no for an answer. In my opinion, this is a bad business practice for Reliant. I will NEVER consider using Reliant because of tonight's experience.

Shirley Walker
June 20th, 2018

Hi Shirley, thanks for reporting this concern. We will research and address any issue we find. We do not condone any rude behaviors as you've mentioned and we apologize if such behavior took place in your neighborhood. Thanks again for letting us know.

Reliant Responds July 3rd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Preference deals for "new" customers

(1.6 / 5)

  If you are a potential new customer Reliant will offer competitive pricing and incentives. If you are an existing customer considering renewal once you enter your address you do not see the best offers that apply to new customers only.
Example: New customers are offered Nest + Home, existing customers only get Nest.
So there is an incentive to leave Reliant, check out other suppliers and maybe come back as a "new" customer later! No incentive to stay as a good regular paying Reliant customer

New customers only
June 13th, 2018

Hello johnel.010204@gmail.com - Thank you for your feedback. We offer a variety of plans for both new and existing cusotmers. Our team can help find one that fits your needs. Click this link to discuss plan options via secure chat 24/7: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm.

Reliant Responds June 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No good

(1.2 / 5)

  Bad customer service and not up to date bills

Kayla
May 30th, 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you've had a poor experience with us. Can we discuss this further? We'd love to make it right. Give us a call or chat 24/7 anytime: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm.

Reliant Responds May 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expensive Service Provider

(1 / 5)

  Agents working in Walmart do not provide enough Information.
My Security Deposit was not refunded as I payed half of security deposit and the agent did not tell me that the deposit is not refundable if you pay half of it.
The billing is too expensive.
They do not provide good offers.
The average monthly plan has some amounts added to the bill is not understandable. Please do not opt for average monthly plan. Reliant tries to fetch more money out of your pocket with this option.
I would not recommend this company to anyone. This company cheated me.

Saroj
May 26th, 2018

Thanks for your feedback, Saroj. You've listed a number of concerns, and we'd like to discuss those with you in more detail. We invite you to chat with us 24/7 at http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm to address these issues.

Reliant Responds May 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Only caters to new customers

(2.8 / 5)

  My 1st contract with them was great with very competitive rates. But after it expired my next 2 contracts the rates kept going up and up. Finally I had enough and just switched to TXU Energy and now have lower rates then my 1st reliant contract. They also told me my plan ran out on the 27th of the month so that's when I had TXU take over but in reality my plan ran out on the 25th so this way they sent me a 2 day bill which the usage was only $4.88 but they got to hit me with 1 more monthly base charge. Ridiculous!!!

Shawn Ziemann
May 3rd, 2018

Thanks for your candid feedback, Shawn. Prices will change according to market costs at the time, and we understand that no one likes to see an increase. We do all that we can to keep pricing competitive and we would love to have a chance to earn your business when you next renew. Give us a call or chat 24/7 to discuss plan options anytime: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm.

Reliant Responds May 8th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Can't take it any more

(1.4 / 5)

  Initially, it was fine, prices are what I expected. They gave me a $200 credit which covered multiple months of charges. I was really happy and recommended their service to others. Then the bill began to climb. I paid what they said I owed, but there was always a balance forwarded. I asked for explanations. Now, they have my bill 240 due, with 174 due on May 7th. My personal audit showed they charged me twice in Feb, 2018. I sent them an email, explaining the over charge. I'm a senior citizen, healing over a bad car wreck , unemployed. I walk around my apt. in the dark, to save, wrapped up in a blanket to save, don't have a washer/dyer. Don't use the dishwasher, don't iron, bath once a week, keep the blinds closed. I swear, this feels like elder abuse. I need your help. It seems no conversation with their customer service with resolving problems never makes it to their accounting, so the price keeps ramping up

Judy Dixon
May 2nd, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Ms. Dixon. We were able to locate your account with the information provided and will contact you to go over your billing in detail. I'm sure that we'll be able to resolve your concerns as well as come up wtih a plan to assist you in reducing your usage and costs. We'll be in touch soon.

Reliant Responds May 8th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont bother signing up people for the $50 credit.

(1 / 5)

  Been with Reliant for close to 10 years. Signed my dad up using the referral process to get a $50 dollar credit for both of us for switching from TXU to Reliant. His service was switched to Reliant a few days after placing the order. Called about three months after the changes asking about the credit. I was informed that although he may have service with Reliant now the service had not been switched over within 30 days of the application for the promotion. The service was switched over within 4 days, not more than 30. One thing you can rely on with Reliant...weasel out of obligations and promises is the way Reliant works.

Kevin
April 18th, 2018

Hi Mr. Lovell - thanks for your feedback and for referring our services to your dad. We were able to confirm that the credit was applied to your invoice that was due March 5 and to your referee's invoice that was due March 7. Please chat in with us or give us a call and we'd be glad to help show you where the credit appears on the invoice. Our apologies for providing incomplete information in your most recent contact, we'll be sure to review that interaction for opportunities to improve. Chat available 24/7 http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm or call 24/7 866-222-7100.

Reliant Responds April 19th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Huge Bill - No response - No Monitoring system - No complaint tracking system

(1 / 5)

  On Monday, April 9th, I received and email letting me know that my credit score had dropped by 40 points as I had charged a large amount onto my credit card. Upon logging in to see my credit card activity, I saw that Reliant Energy (Reliant Energy )had charged my card the amount of $6390.17 for one month of electricity (for Feb-Mar). I have auto-pay setup, that is why I did not notice this charge earlier.

I immediately called Reliant Customer Care and they said there isnt anything they can do right away, that they will have to investigate it and would call me back within 2 days to give me an update.

Since I did not hear from Reliant Customer Care, I called them back. They have no news. They were questioning me that maybe I had used that much of electricity. Im outraged, these charges do not make any sense. I live in a small, 2-bedroom, 900 sq. ft. apartment. Over the past 5 years my electric bill averages about $100/month. There is absolutely no way I could have consumed that much electricity in a months time. I explained that an individual had come out back in March and had changed out my meter and that this might be a reason why this had happened. Maybe he didnt reset something. All they say is that they will investigate.

My credit card is maxed out and I need it as that is what I use to buy everything like my groceries, my other bills and is my back up for any emergency that I might incur. We are under tremendous pressure, with all these things going on.

Also, my credit score has been significantly affected and this hinders me greatly as I was planning to buy a home this summer.

Huge Bill - No response - No Monitoring system - No complaint tracking system
April 16th, 2018

Hello - Please be assured that we are aware of this issue and are actively working back with the utility company to determine why this large charge took place. We will be in touch with you as soon as we have answers and next steps.

Reliant Responds April 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lazy

(1.6 / 5)

  I set up the power for my move and service under my name and account started on the 11th. The previous owners put a disconnect in for the 14th which was a Sat. My power was disconnected. After 3 calls and all day wasted, they finally told me at 9 pm what happened. She said she would send a priority over to Oncur to flip the switch, it will be on shortly. Still here it is Sunday, no power..... called Reliant again, they now tell me Oncur only works 7-7 Monday thru Friday and my power wont be in until Monday sometime. Im now 2 days behind in getting work done and house cleaned for when the movers get here Monday morning. Extremely dissatisfied with customer service, mistakes are made but at least dont waste my time lying to me or just being lazy and not getting to the real issue. Then seriously you dont have a way to flip the switch on the weekends??? Or an actually number to someone at Oncur other than the business account.

Bad customer service
April 15th, 2018

Hello - We are disappointed to hear of your poor experience. We'd be glad to review it to identify what went wrong, as well as resolve any outstanding concerns, but we are unable to locate the account with the information contained in this review. We invite you to chat with us 24/7 at http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm for further assistance.

Reliant Responds April 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of the Offer of $600.00 Bonus! You will pay HIGHER rates with this promotion!

(1 / 5)

  I received a promotional offer from Reliant in the mail (and continue to receive these offers!). In the beginning of February, I called to inquire about the offer and spoke with a Reliant Representative. We discussed rates and I told him I would need to shop around. I did so and found that Reliant's rates were HIGHER than competitor's rates. The representative called me back & I informed him that Reliant's rates were higher than competitor's rates. The rep stated he would ask his manager about what could be offered. He came back with a lower rate and I stated that I agree to the lower rate (of course!). The rep explained that the termination fee with my current energy provider (which I had had for years) would be "off-set" by the promotion we discussed. I did not receive the "offset" of $300.00 from Ambit and called twice to inquire. The first time I was informed that it would be credited on the second billing cycle. When the 2nd bill came, I still did not have the $300.00 credit. I spoke with a Manager that listened to the recordings of my conversations with the Reliant Representative and concluded that I had said, "yes I agree to the lower rate." (which I did). It did not matter to the manager that the representative failed to explain to me that the lower rate EXCLUDED me from the promotion. When I asked the rep how the termination fee with my previous company would be paid, he explained it would be "offset" by Reliant, leading me to believe the promotion was still in effect. The representative neglected to tell me that the promotional offer was no longer in effect since I had chosen the lower rate and did not explain that I would need to email or fax my final bill from my previous energy provider with the termination fee in order to receive a credit. Although the Reliant Manager disagrees, I found this to be very misleading. It is clear that Reliant provides training to their Representives that includes using any type of tactic possible to gain customers. It is disheartening and this is not the type of company with whom I would ordinarily do business. I was finally given instructions by the Reliant Manager as to how to at least get a credit for the termination fee I have already paid. Unfortunately, I am locked into a contact with Reliant now for an entire 12 months. I will continue with Reliant until my contract is up and will then go back to Ambit which was absolutely wonderful. I feel foolish that I was "suckered in" by Reliant's tactics. The morale of the story is "if it looks too good to be true, it is." Bottom line, if you chose Reliant's $600.00 promotion, you will pay HIGHER energy rates than the competitors. Reliant "stands behind" their tactics to gain a larger customer base. Now I just hope I at least receive the credit for the termination fee that I paid to my previous provider. I followed instructions from the Manager in order to receive the credit. However, based on my previous experience with Reliant, I am very concerned I will not receive this credit. (keeping my fingers crossed)

Leena Volmer
March 20th, 2018

Hi Leena - thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear about the confusion experienced when discussing different plans with us. We do offer a variety of plan types based on customers' differing needs and preferences, with and without incentives. We also offer an opportunity to change your plan within the first few months of a contract without penalty. In your case, we do see that you are on the lowest price point available to you for your plan type. We have confirmed that an amount matching your cancellation fee from your previous provider was already credited to your account. We'll take your comments back to the appropriate teams to make sure that we do all we can to avoid this type of experience in the future. We will work to ensure that you enjoy your time wtih us and hope to change your initial negative impression to a positive one.

Reliant Responds March 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Turned off my power by "mistake"!!!! Bills Trippled!!!

(1 / 5)

  This is one of the only times in my life I am writing a review, but Reliant has tested my patience. I came home from work once to find my power turned off!! I have auto payments and my account was current, had never missed a payment prior. Turns out they turned the power off in the wrong apartment when they received a move out notice. So I went without power for two days because of this "mistake"!! I had to call several times before someone finally set up a new account for me and turned my power back on. But it gets worse. My bills tripled after that!! I paid almost $300 per month for the next few months. And mind you I live in a tiny one bedroom apartment. It just doesn't make sense. I am so frustrated with Reliant and I wish I never got their service. I urge you to go with a different energy company!! And hopefully you have that option!!

Frustrated with Reliant
March 13th, 2018

Hi Frustrated, thanks for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear of the difficulties experienced recently. Generally, customers moving into a new address are dilligent about providing the correct address information, however occassionally errors are made resulting in the challenging situation you described. Electric providers rely upon that information as they are unable to physically determine the resident at the provided address, however once you reported the error, we should have been able to address it more quickly and with less effort on your part. Regarding the bill increase you've experienced, we've see this across the state of Texas with this winter's extended colder temperatures, particularly for customers in all electric homes. We do have options for customers with unanticipated higher winter bills. Please let us know if you'd like us to review further - you can chat with us 24/7 at http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm. As more pleasant temperatures enter our weather forecasts, we look forward to our customers enjoying some lower usage periods.

Reliant Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooked way hunting customers

(1 / 5)

  Theyre doing monkey business. Their agent at Walmart lied about them charging fees to cancel service. I asked how much they charge for early cancellation, he said dont worry about it. I agreed to sign up, I filled out my information and I didnt see anywhere charge for cancellation is $295. They deliberately dont show it when signing, and their representative denied they do charge $295 for early cancellation. They tricked me into their service. I found out about the fee when I got their welcome email. Then I could clearly see the $295 for cancellation. Had I known about it I would not have signed up. Theyre liers crooks . I complained to them in an email and phone call, they said theyll not cancel my service without charging me. So Im stuck with them for the entire contract period of 24 months.

Said Salah
February 28th, 2018

Hi Said Salah - We have escalated this to be reviewed with the involved parties to ensure any incorrect information is cleared up. If we made a mistake, we will be glad to honor what we committed to you should you decide to change your contract now or in the future. If we are able to locate your account with the information provided in this review, someone will be in contact with you to discuss. If we cannot reach you with the information provided, we invite you to chat with us 24/7 at http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm.

Reliant Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...