Home > Read Reviews > Southwest Power And Light

Southwest Power & Light Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Southwest Power & Light are their customer service, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.7 of 5.

Southwest Power & Light Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

59 Reviews and Replies for Southwest Power & Light


Horrible company

(1.4 / 5)

  I went with them about a year ago. Set up for auto pay. My bills due date is the 20th and they pulled out of my acct on the 4th the first 3 months.. turned the auto pay off and I was charged a monthly fee on top of them upping my kilowatt price because I was no longer on auto pay. Wanted to pay the bill through the automated system and you have to use a checking account. Can't use a debit card. And they charge you $10 to pay the bill.. this company is horrible. I will pay the additional charge to switch to a new company... will be doing this first thing Monday morning.

Upset customer
February 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

hidden fees, they try to get as much as possible out of you

(2 / 5)

  I would NOT recommend this company!!! They have lots of hidden fees and even just making a payment, there is a charge for that too......talk about a disgusting company to do that to their clients!!! I will NOT do business with a company that charges you a fee to take your payment! Look out for hidden fees and watch your pocket book as they will take as much $$ for anything.....Money hungry and dishonest!!!

Josef
January 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  I have had many unfortunate and disappointing dealings with their customer service. They have very limited hours. To speak to a supervisor they only offer a call back. Each time I call I get a different answer, usually they are all incorrect. The last straw was the change to the new website. The associate I spoke to as I tried to get access told me that as part of the recent change to their site, every client was forced to get a new Username. Either 1) that's true, then this creates a terrible customer experience or 2) it's not true, in that case it just goes to show the bad information you get with this company.

Steve in Texas
January 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait And Switch

(1 / 5)

  SPL has dishonest marketing tactics - Please beware of monthly fees, which they won't disclose to you when signing up. My experience with this service provider is horrible - All they care about is getting your money rather than being upfront with their charges. Need to do a better job to inform subscribers of all fees involved.

Plan name
April 24th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GREAT SUPPLIER

(5 / 5)

  I have been with SWP&L for years and they offer the best rates. I have never had a problem with them and I recommend them all the time.

ReamesC
March 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pasadena, Texas

(5 / 5)

  I've been using Southwest Power & Light for several years and they are very good. I'm an electrical substation designers and their electricity is as good as anyone else.

Very good company
March 30th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Use SW Power & Light

(1.6 / 5)

  My house was up for sale when my 2 year contract was soon to expire with SW Power & Light. I called weeks in advance of the contract expiration. I was mistakenly given the impression that it was a good idea to go to a month to month contract since I was moving soon. The customer service rep told me that my rate would go up a fraction of a cent. Instead my rate was doubled. During the period of time I repeatedly got calls from SW Power & Light Sales people who tried to get me to resign a new long term contract and NONE of them warned me that my rate would go up if I did not resign a long term contract (remember it doubled). I ended up switching to another company because they would not credit my bill for the amount they ripped me off.

Robert Mackey
January 19th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Website

(0 / 5)

  The only thing they distinguishes one vendor from another is price and the website. I have found the website to be EXTREMELY slow and unresponsive.

Terry Pettijohn
April 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Joke and a half...

(1 / 5)

  My usage for Nov was down substatially from previous month yet bill was the same amount. Noticed a Smart Meter recovery charge of $40 dollars for the month. Thought that was kinda pricey so called CS to ask about it. She said " oh that charge is only $18.33".....i said how come mine is $40?? Puts me on hold to go ask about it. Waited 30 plus minutes on hold.......I got better things to do. Unpluggin these dolts tomorrow

Steve
December 10th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disorganized and Inconsistent

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up online from the 'power to choose' website. Enrolled in a paperless billing, auto pay 6 month contract for 11.4 cents/kwh, and got an email confirming my turn on date. Well, we get to the house with trailers of furniture, etc and are moving in and we have no electricity. I call and they cannot help. They scheduled my turn on for 7/3, and no one is in the office, "holiday", they said. I have no electricity and loads of things and people needing some refuge. Terrible experience and lack of communicaiton.

I get my first bill for 4 days of service and have to pay a minimum usage fee. I understand. You just can't use that much electricity in 4 days. My second bill comes and I am WAAAY overcharged. I finally get a hold of someone and they told me I was not on a contract, I was paying month-to-month at the going rate. All the confirmation emails I got apparently meant nothing. They said they can apply a bill credit to my first bill, the one that used 220 kwh, not the 2nd one that used 2260 kwh.

I am done with them. Switched yesterday.

Daniel
August 13th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lame

(0 / 5)

  Lame......take my advice.....go somewhere else. Do not use Southwest Power and light. I'm under a contract also and the day that contract is over, I'm switching Energy Providers. I don't need to express my issues......everyone who has rated here before me has told the story. You don't need to hear mine!

Bill Nelson
July 26th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

best electricity supplier

(0 / 5)

  I have had swpl&l for about 5 years and could not be happier. I started out with TXU when we moved to Texas, big mistake. bills hovered around $ 300-$400 per month. southwest power is fixed @ 0.0625 cents per KWH. my bills now average around $150.00-$200.00 per month.

russ cornell
July 7th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.8 / 5)

  I had this company for 2 years without any problems, however i get these new promotions and decided to change, BIG MISTAKE, southwest is fair and does not give you extra charges, it is what it is all the time, I am going back to this company

steve
June 30th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Southwest Power cut off my power one day after I started with the company!!!

(1 / 5)

  Don't choose any company that can be so stupid as to shut down your power one day after starting the service. I bought a home and my sellers moved out on 6/15/15 so I started my service on 6/16/15. I chose Southwest Power so I would be 100% certain that there would not be power interruption because this is the same company used by my home seller. It is inexcusable that this company shut off my power on 6/17/15 after I had full confirmation of my power being started without service interruption.

Jerome Heaton
June 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poor accounting practices and customer service

(1.6 / 5)

  I pay my bill through online billing with my bank. My payment was sent and received before the due date. They called me and said it was past due the day after the due date. I called them and they said that they didn't receive it yet to check back in two days. The next day I got a notice of disconnect in 7 days! I called them back. They still have no idea where the payment is. I went ahead and paid it, so, my wife, son and I had electricity. I sent them screen shots of where money was taken from account. That wasn't good enough. The next day i got a copy of the deposited check they put into their bank. They still argued with me saying that didn't show that they received my money. WHAT ELSE COULD I GIVE THEM! Talked to three different people today to try and get my money back. The last person after saying there is nothing they can do, she did some type of inquiry, came back to the phone and said " I found it". It was deposited into someone else's account. NO "SORRY WE PUT YOU THROUGH THIS MESS" NO, "OOPS OUR FAULT". Told me to sign up for auto draft and this wouldn't happen. Tried making me feel like it was my fault. To hell with them!

D
June 5th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They were just fine!

(5 / 5)

  I don't usually have the time to write reviews. Signed up with SW P & L 2 years ago online because of a very attractive rate. I was on autopay. Every month a got a statement showing how much my account was charged. I never had a problem or needed to call for anything. I enjoyed the low rates. As far as I'm concerned it was a no brainer. No problems at all!

FG
March 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hidden Fees and HORRIBLE Customer Service

(0 / 5)

  Stay away! These guys are nothing but crooks who will nickel and dime you to death with fees. There are "monthly fees" and "processing fees". You're not getting the advertised rates at all. If I didn't have a contract, I'd be switching today. They force you to be on auto-pay and charge your account five days after the billing date even though the "due date" is 14 days away. Don't even try the average billing. They don't know how to do a monthly average. They expect you to pay the balance of the average billing all in one payment. Stay Away! They get zero bulbs rating from me. They have the most obnoxious, abusive and unfriendly customer service reps I've ever encountered. Never again.

Sam Iam
October 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Customer Service

(0 / 5)

  I signed up for the first time a few months ago and was told that I had the low rate and on auto pay, when I got the bill that was not the case so I had to call to get the issue resolved. I had to call because I received a payment overdue note,I had a very hard time understanding the CSR, possible oriental, and she was not able to help me and told me that I had cancelled the auto pay and I just need to pay the bill. Then she couldn't get into the system and I had to call back but note that my electricity would be disconnected if I didn't pay. It was a mess hopefully this wont be the case during my contract with them.

CJ
October 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Upset

(1 / 5)

  For 18 months I had service with the company and it was fine. The entire time I was on autopay. I still show that my account is on auto pay. Back in March I cancelled service, no problem. However 2 weeks ago I noticed that my credit score dropped from 805 to 680. The reason SWPL decided to put a collection on me for a final bill. It was only 160.

I never received a past due notice, and was on and from the website am still on auto pay. I still have not heard back from the company. I paid the 160 to the collection company and they said they will send me paperwork requesting that it removed from my credit. Still haven't received!

I am very upset with the billing practices and the whole reason I was on auto pay is to ensure I never have a late payment. Which was smooth for the previous year and a half!!

Last bill scam
September 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

8 YEARS of GREAT rates and service!!!

(5 / 5)

  Reading all the bad reviews is surprising! I signed up with SWPL 8 years ago and the highest my bill has EVER been for my 2 bedroom home is $180! And that is only during the summer months in HOUSTON TEXAS! Average bill is well under $100 otherwise. I am pleased with the service and any time anyone shows up trying to get me to switch, I'm told they have never heard of SWPL and then I send them on their way. The only downfall I can list is the high deposit ($390) but once you pay your bill on time for 12 consecutive months w/out a late/disconnect notice generated, they refund half of the deposit back to you! I recommend SWPL to everyone who asks me about power company options. (=

Denise Valentine
August 16th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...