Home > Read Reviews > Txu Energy

TXU Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for TXU Energy are their customer service, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.0 of 5.

TXU Energy Rating

Delaware Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.7 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

526 Reviews and 179 Replies for TXU Energy


POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

(2.2 / 5)

  Our bill jumped from $303.33 to $607.51, with ZERO change in kWh usage. ZERO! TXU sttaes its an Oncor demand charge increase on out TXU BILL and Oncor states its a TXU issue. In 2 weeks we have spoken to 6 representatives, 1 supervisor, submitted a dispute and no one can explain Nor can they correct the bill. There supposedly is no one who can explain or fix it the issue. The just keep reading the disclaimer about demand charges. We explained in GREAT DETAIL that if they would just pull the invoice history they would see the exact kWh on one bill and compare that it is a $300 diff. The same invoices we will be submitting to TX Public Utility Commission. This easy fix has become such a nightmare. We never had these issues with Reliant at our old location.STAY AWAY FROM TXU

Winnie
April 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  I have used TXU for years and all of the sudden i get my personal information stolen and am a victim of identity theft and i have had over $1000 stolen from my account and two additional accounts opened in my name and they are making me go through months and months of processes to get my money back even though they clearly know my information was stolen. How can They let other people open accounts in my name to begin with. They keep pushing my dates back to get the status on my account and I keep having to recall them because when I miss calls they do not leave any voicemails to call them back. Now they tell me they need a copy of the incident report from the police which they should have told me to get in the first place now I have to wait even longer for the process. Then they have the nerve to call me saying I now owe them the amount of money that I lost in the first place!? Never have I been more disappointed and humiliated that they did not communicate this within each other and make me feel like trash.

Disappointed customer
March 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM

(1 / 5)

  I had TXU for 8 years and I knew something wasn't quite right. I couldn't understand why I was being over charged for electric services, my bill was never low --despite the fact that I was ON THE ROAD 99.9% of the time and had everything UNPLUGGED AND OFF, except the KITCHEN AREA. MY BILL WAS HIGH EVERY MONTH NO MATTER WHAT I DID. I also CALLED them ALMOST WEEKLY -complaining with no RESOLUTION, except the would change the RATE PLAN and the BILL GOT EVEN HIGHER.

FINALLY -- I switch COMPANIES and my BILLS and the LOWEST they have ever BEEN. TXU was ANGRY for the SWITCH and decided they would RUIN my CREDIT --BY REPORTING ME LATE for 4 MONTHS in a SINGLE REPORT and ALSO they REPORTED me as a CHARGE OFF for 100.18

I DONT OWE THEM ANYTHING---THIS IS RETALIATION ! and MADE UP, PLEASE GO BACK AND LOOK AT THE REVIEWS from others , its the same PATTERN of BEHAVIOR. HOW DO THEY GET AWAY WITH IT.



TXU IS SCAMMING CUSTOMERS
March 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging

(1.4 / 5)

  I live in an apartment with my child and my bills average 160.00 suddenly when the fall case. Check this, I turn off the appliances e.g. stove, washer, dryer at the breaker to ensure my bills are not high. Im typically gone for 7-9 hours a day and NEVER turn on the heat which is also turned off at the breaker. I use a space heater, FYI. I called several times to inquire why my bill in three years has sky rocketed. They had tried to throw out the holidays, family being over and cold weather!! First off, you stupid LIARS, my family does not even live near me and I have not used the central heating!!!! I threatened to call the news and a few days later a lady called from the txu executive presidents office to speak to me. She gave me a $50 credit- my bill was still over 100.00 that month. I know they are either price gouging or average billing because they were initially billing me for 14 days and I didnt notice. Then one day I compared my bills back to 2015
because I keep everything, and I was paying 70.00 for 14 days and I thought it was for a 30 day period. I was paying around 60 a month prior. Currently, My average kwh is .08!! Once I switched my plan to 12 months and received a 100.00 reward bonus that bill shot through the roof into the universe and they cant tell me why. Once I get rid of these thirsty, lying thieves I will never look back. I called the last lady at the presidents office to cancel my contract as she hasnt called me back- its been 4 days! I hate companies that take advantage of people

Manoy
March 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not impressed

(2.4 / 5)

  Ive had them for 3 months now and the only time my bill was under 100.00 was the first month, it seems like it just keeps going up and up. Highly disappointing to a single mom of 4

Shayna
February 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Free nights

(5 / 5)

  The free nights is a nice program. It'll be better if the nights started at 7pm instead of 9pm. My only issue is with the centrepoint fee which seems to double my electricity bill.

Kay
February 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not use TXU

(1 / 5)

  I used more energy every month and instead of them continuing to charge me a rate or a little higher rate they charge me a fee and add it on my last bill. If you have a house go solar these electricity companies have been robbing people any way they can.

OG
January 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They send out confirmation letters confirming they received payment and then shut you off and won't turn you back on when the mistake was on their end

(1 / 5)

  They have horrible customer service didn't make the situation right when the mistake was on their end why send out a confirmation that are confirming you received payment and then shut them off whatever happened with on that end and you shouldn't send out a confirmation letter especially one that says to disregard any other notices worst customer service ever and one of the highest rates I got a $40 prepaid plan for much

Pissed customer
January 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse company ever!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Worse company ever!! They don't keep there word!!!!! I'm going back to Reliant ASAP...
Shouldn't have never left especially after being with Reliant for over 15 years!!

Trish
January 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Trick XXxKed

(1 / 5)

  I am a degreed engineer and investigate major industrial accidents and I was totally mislead and flat ass tricked in to paying 15 cents per KWH but it was fixed. Further, they fail to respond to my complaints. I may take them to court just to give them the exposure they deserve. I understand there is a commission that i can also contact. Now you know how they pay for all those stupid ads.

pissed off in kingwood
December 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not loyal to customers

(1 / 5)

  I was a customer of txu at my old place and NEVER got my electric cut off or paid a late fee. When I moved into my new place I thought I would be a loyal customer to txu and get that service again, WRONG! They tried to make me put down another deposit of $250 after being with them and showing for a year I can pay, so I declined. A couple hours later I get a call from a supervisor saying that they could offer the service with no money down. I declined the offer because I had to get another electric service so I could get my keys to my apartment. So fast forward a month later and come to find out the new electric company messed up my apartment number and put the service somewhere else. So trying to be a loyal customer, I called txu back. I told the young man what I was offered last month and he asked for the phone number so he could look up the call. They looked up the call and heard that the rep was being a bit deceitful saying things under his breath so I wouldn't hear him. So they offered me the plan I wanted with a $100 down payment split into 2 payments. I told the young man that I didn't want to do that either because I was promised something else and I felt like they were taking advantage of me. When I woke up this morning I decided that I would give them one last chance to get things right, so I called txu to take that offer. Come to find out they didn't notate ANYTHING we talked about in my notes so no one even knew I spoke with someone the day before. So I asked for a supervisor. They wouldn't even go back to listen to the calls when I told them I spoke with someone. The supervisor was very unhelpful and wouldn't even try to satisfy a customer. They are NOT loyal to their customers so I nor my people will not be using txu again.

Cheyenne Graham
December 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unhappy

(1.6 / 5)

  I am paying almost as much this winter as I paid over the summer. Prices have drastically increased since I renewed! Not to mention I was misinformed by the agent when I renewed. They make it confusing with this charge....and that charge.....and this credit if......blah! blah! Will be switching.

Paula
December 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Electric Company!

(1 / 5)

  TXU is the CRAPIEST electricity provider. There rates are high, probably highest. You have read their fact label very carefully. On top of that, they will charge you $25 Return Fee if the automatic credit card payment doesn't get process the first time. Don't buy electricity from this company and if you are current customer you probably paying alot higher charges than other companies, and I would recommend to switch your provider.

Khan
December 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TXU gets richer from the struggling customers

(1.4 / 5)

  If you are struggling in life~its only going to get worse. They tack on charge upon charge upon charge even when they get the phone calls as i try to make the effort to get caught up and try my best to be responsible.
30+ years of faithful pmts. then cancer and divorce and 5 years of hardship trying to regain a footing.
What other choice do you have? Who can live WITHOUT electricity anymore.?
I live in a small house and my bills are over 200 and when they start tacking on 57.00, 10.87, 19.90, another 57.00 on just one bill??? After I called in almost every month and make payments~just not in time for them to get fee happy.
Being poor is not a crime. But to TXU - being poor is a way for them to get rich.

gouging
December 8th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service

(4.8 / 5)

  I love that my lights are free after 8

Qemiya
December 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DISAPPOINTED!

(1.8 / 5)

  I've been loyal customer to TXU for more than 4 decades. They're trying to kick us off of our plan (SureStart). They say it's been discontinued. However, they cannot or won't tell me what mo-to-mo index plans they have. Their TOSA says they sell'em but no one in Exec Ofc can answer question. We don't won't a term or variable rate plan. We only want to pay for electricity that we actually use mo-to-mo. We don't have internet. I'm at the library w/unsecured wifi. I've been trying to get help from Exec Ofc since 10-18. They're not offering any solutions to help. I've opened e-mail acct at library (that I don't want) to file complaint w/Exec Ofc. I cannot respond to any e-mails sent. I've really no time to go to library everyday. Have left multiple phone msgs to Exec Ofc. VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED w/lack of response, communication by phone & consideration for a long time customer!!!!

Loyal Customer
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been lied to

(1 / 5)

  I called in a couple of days after service to verify the rewards Ill be recieving. They told me there was no tracking number or any verification Ill be getting. I called again a couple of days and months later to verify. They said the same thing. I just called in today apperantly talking to the rewards center and they actually sent me an email concerning the rewards. Lets see if I have to call back again concerning this issue. Only this call today did they tell me to submit and process my claim. Pull up the calls for my accounts since its being recorded for quality purposes and clarify to me what happened during those previous calls.

Ngan Pham
October 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price Gougers

(1 / 5)

  I left Reliant after not being able to get a plan with a fixed rate. They jacked me up pretty bad in the winter to about .15/kWh. When I called TXU I was sold a 12 month plan at .074/kWh. I was told if I didn't use at least 800kwh I would have to pay an additional $9.95 a month. I had recently moved down from RI and thought this was odd. Up there you get your rate and pay. Less you use, less you pay. They actually encourage being "green". Not penalize you for it.

Fast forward to today. I receive my TXU bill and I used 200kwh less than I did last month but my bill is $20 more. I called and was told I am "not receiving my $30 credit for using more than 800kwh". I was never told I would be penalized $30 a month. Only $9.95. Out of an $84 bill, $30 of that is from not using enough kWh. This is insane and should be investigated by PUC as predatory. The 3 more months of this contract should be annuled due to breach of contract. I will never recommend TXU to anyone.

No vaseline
October 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rating

(1.4 / 5)

  I switched from Reliant to TXU and my first bill was 178.00, I just got my second bill and it is 350.00. I am so upset NEVER did I ever get this kind of outrageous bill from Reliant. The most I would pay with Reliant was 220.00. I definitely regret ever making the switch. I should have stayed where I was.

Sandra Luera
July 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst than the mafia!!

(1 / 5)

  I have been with TXU for several years. My house is only 1400sf and the average billing has always been $90-$120. This winter it QUADRUPLED!! When I called they said it was because we've had a hard winter. Ok, it was cold. But it wasn't an ice age. So the winter passed and I paid the quadrupled fees for 3 months. Then i turned all the heating off and NO a/c turned on for 2 months. The bills were the same. I tried talking to customer service but you just get the runaround. There is only one person in this house and most weekends I'm not even here.There is no possible way that much electricity is being used. My neighbor's house is over twice the size of mine and they pay about $40 more than I. I'm tired of being fleeced. Green Mountain here I come!!

Mari
June 8th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price

Example Bill
loading...